Journal of the Senate

Forty-seventh Legislative Assembly

SIXTY-FIRST DAY

Pursuant to Senate Concurrent Resolution No. 4033, the 47th Legislative Assembly reconvened at the hour of 1:00 p.m., November 16, 1981, President Ernest Sands presiding.

The prayer was offered by Sister Mary Elizabeth, St. Anne's Church, Bismarck.

O wise and merciful God, you guide and govern with love all you have created. Look upon this assembly of leaders in our state, and fill them with your Spirit of wisdom. May they always act here in accordance with your will, and may their decisions be for the wellbeing of those they serve. Sustain them in weariness, guard them from pettiness, and help them see in one another children of the same almighty Father — you, Lord, to whom be glory forever. Amen.

IN MEMORIAM

The President requested that the Senate members remain standing for a moment of silence in memory of former Senator Frank Shablow.

The roll was called and all Senators were present, with two vacancies.

A quorum was declared by the President.

CORRECTION AND REVISION OF THE JOURNAL

Mr. President, Your Committee on Revision and Correction of the Journal has carefully examined the Journal of the Sixtieth day and finds the same to be correct.

Sens. Jens Tennefos, Chairman Senator Walsh moved that the report be adopted, which motion prevailed.

Ben Meier SECRETARY OF STATE 701-224-2900 State of North Dakota

Robert R. Schaible DEPUTY



DEPARTMENT OF STATE Bismarck, North Dakota 58505

November 12, 1981

The Honorable Ernest M. Sands President of the Senate Forty-seventh Legislative Assembly State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota 58505

Dear Sir,

I hereby certify that the following is, according to records of my office, a true and correct list of names and addresses of those duly elected in the special election held November 3, 1981, as members of the Forty-seventh Legislative Assembly of the State of North Dakota.

November 16, 1981

District No. Counties or Name Address parts thereof 10 Cavalier, Towner William S."Bill" Heigaard Langdon 32 Burleigh Bonnie Miller Heinrich Bismarck

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto set my hand and affixed the Great Seal of the State of North Dakota, this 12th Day of November, 1981

m Ben Meier

Secretary of State

Great Seal

OATH OF OFFICE

Senator Nething moved that a committee of two be appointed to escort Associate Justice Gerald VandeWalle of the Supreme Court of the State of North Dakota to the rostrum for the purpose of administering the Oath of Office to the newly elected Senators, which motion prevailed.

The President appointed as such committee, Senators Hal Christensen, Lashkowitz.

Senator Nething moved that a committee of two be appointed to escort Senators-elect William Heigaard and Bonnie Miller Heinrich to the rostrum for the purpose of receiving the Oath of Office, which motion prevailed.

The President appointed as such committee, Senators Redlin and Berube.

Senators-elect Heigaard and Miller Heinrich were escorted to the rostrum and Associate Justice VandeWalle then administered the Oath of Office to the newly elected Senators.

REPORT OF PROCEDURAL COMMITTEES

Mr. ____ President ____: Your Procedural Committee on ____ Committees ____

respectfully submit the following committee to consider the nomination

for Commissioner of Banking and Financial Institutions:

Reiten, Chairman Parker

Lodoen

Fritzell

Senator Nething

____ moved that the report be adopted, which motion

Melland

Redlin

Grotberg

prevailed and the report was adopted.

Mr. President : Your Procedural Committee on Committees

respectfully submit the following committee to consider the nomination for the State Board of Higher Education:

Nelson, Chairman

Lee Erickson Vosper Naaden Dotzenrod Tallackson

Senator Nething _____ moved that the report be adopted, which motion

prevailed and the report was adopted.

Mr. President : Your Procedural Committee on Committees

respectfully submit the following Senate members to the Joint Reapportionment Committee:

Olin, Co-Chairman Hanson Holmberg Moore Tallackson

moved that the report be adopted, which motion

prevailed and the report was adopted.

Senator Nething



GOVERNOR

PRESENTATION OF PETITIONS AND COMMUNICATIONS

State of North Dakota EXECUTIVE OFFICE BISMARCK

November 16, 1981

The Honorable Ernest M. Sands President North Dakota Senate State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota 58505 Dear Mr. President:

The following appointments have been made since the adjournment of the regular 1981 session of the Legislative Assembly and are forwarded for confirmation by the Senate:

> Mr. Leland M. Stenehjem, Jr. Commissioner of Banking and Financial Institutions.

Dr. Tyrone Langager State Board of Higher Education

It is requested that the Senate give its favorable consideration to these appointments at its earliest convenience.

allen t. Clan

ALLEN I. OLSO Governor

AI0:wcg

The President referred the appointment of Mr. Leland Stenehjem, Jr. to the Committee for Commissioner of Banking and Financial Institutions.

The President referred the appointment of Dr. Tyrone Langager to the Committee for the State Board of Higher Education.

REPORT OF PROCEDURAL COMMITTEES

Mr. President : Your Procedural Committee on Delayed Bills has reviewed the following bills relating to state legislative apportionment and the staggering of terms of senators, and has approved their introduction by a unanimous vote.

Senator Cussons, Chairman

prevailed and the report was adopted.

FIRST READING OF SENATE BILLS Legislative Council introduced:

Senate Bill No. 2440. — A Bill for an Act to create and enact two new sections to chapter 54-03 of the North Dakota Century Code, relating to state legislative apportionment and the staggering of terms of senators; to amend and reenact sections 11-07-04, 16.1-03-17, and 54-03-01.5 of the North Dakota Century Code, relating to the election of county commissioners, party reorganization after redistricting, and legislative apportionment requirements; to repeal section 54-03-01.6, relating to state legislative apportionment; to provide for temporary nonapplication of section 16.1-03-17; to declare legislative intent; and to declare an emergency.

Was read the first time and referred to the Joint Committee on Reapportionment.

2430

Senator Stromme, Reps. Mertens, Berg introduced:

Senate Bill No. 2441 — A Bill for an Act to create and enact two new sections to chapter 54-03 of the North Dakota Century Code, relating to state legislative apportionment and the staggering of terms of senators; to amend and reenact sections 11-07-04, 16.1-03-17, and 54-03-01.5 of the North Dakota Century Code, relating to the election of county commissioners, party reorganization after redistricting, and legislative apportionment requirements; to repeal section 54-03-01.6, relating to state legislative apportionment; to provide for temporary nonapplication of section 16.1-03-17; to declare legislative intent; and to declare an emergency.

Was read the first time and referred to the Joint Committee on Reapportionment.

Senator Nething moved that the Senate recess until 5:00 p.m., which motion prevailed.

The Senate reconvened, President Sands presiding.

Senator Nething moved that the Senate adjourn and convene at 9:00 a.m., Tuesday, November 17, 1981, which motion prevailed.

LEO LEIDHOLM, Secretary