JOURNAL OF THE HOUSE

Fifty-third Legislative Assembly

* * * * *

Bismarck, January 7, 1993

The House convened at 1:45 p.m., with Speaker R. Berg presiding.

The prayer was offered by Deacon David Vaughan, Spirit of Life Catholic Church. Mandan.

The roll was called and all members were present except Representatives Dorso, Mahoney, and Martin.

A quorum was declared by the Speaker.

CORRECTION AND REVISION OF THE JOURNAL

MR. SPEAKER: Your Committee on Correction and Revision of the Journal (Rep. DeWitz, Chairman) has carefully reexamined the Journal of the First Day and recommends that it be corrected as follows and when so corrected, recommends that it be approved:

Page 38, Line 19, delete the word "Nelson" and replace it with the word "Wogsland"

Page 38, line 25, after the word "guards", replace the comma with a period and insert the following: "Mike Johnson, Senior Patrol Leader,"

REP. WARDNER MOVED that the report be adopted, which motion prevailed.

REPORT OF PROCEDURAL COMMITTEE

MR. SPEAKER: Your procedural Employment Committee (Rep. Rydell, Chairman) submits the following names for the positions specified below.

REP. FREIER MOVED that the House dispense with the reading of the report, which motion prevailed.

REP. RYDELL MOVED that the report be adopted, which motion prevailed.

<u> 1993 HOUSE EMPLOYEES</u>		
<u>Chief Clerk</u>		
Roy Gilbreath	Bismarck	
<u>Desk_Reporter</u>		
Barbara Middaugh	Bismarck	
Sergeant-at-Arms		
Richard Chorlton	Towner	
Assistant Chief Clerk		
Jeane Marschke	Bismarck	
Bill Clerk	2.5ma. cm	
Lance Hagen	Ellendale	
Chief Stenographer & Payroll Clerk	2110114410	
Georgia Clement	Bismarck	
Chief Committee Clerk	D I Siliai CK	
Darlyne Clausnitzer	Bismarck	
Appropriations Committee Clerk	DISHAICK	
Carol Nitschke	Bismarck	
Assistant Appropriations Committee Clerks		
Judi Markegard	Hettinger	
Carolyn Hoffmann	Bismarck	
Kitty Steidler	Bismarck	
<u>Committee Clerks</u>		
Pat Dietz	Bismarck	

Jocey Deutsch Jonathan Thomson Lavata Becker Laurie Kaelberer Wanda Thompson Lois Schmidt Janice Stein Janel Rogstad Connie Simenson	<u>Assistant Committee Clerk</u>	Bismarck Bismarck Bismarck New Salem Bismarck Bismarck Mandan Bismarck
Barbara Langemo Gloria Olson	Chief Page and Bill Book Clerk	Bismarck Bismarck
	stant Chief Page & Bill Book Cle	
Jocelyn Soderstrom	<u>Journal Page</u>	Devils Lake
Barbara Larson Karen Schmidt Gere Stetson	<u>Desk Pages</u>	Bismarck Flasher Taylor
Lorrie Giese	Secretary to the Speaker	Bismarck
Mazie Patchen	ecretary to the Majority Leader f Assistant to the Majority Lead	Bismarck
Keith Magnusson	ecretary to the Minority Leader	Bismarck
Arlene Haunson	f Assistant to the Minority Leader	Bismarck
April Fairfield	Deputy Sergeant-at-Arms	Jamestown
Judi Kallis	Assistant Sergeants-at-Arms	New Leipzig
John McMahon Jerome Moszer Bernie Clark John Wanser Stephanie Fisher Brenda Huff Marion Bassingwait		Bismarck Bismarck Bismarck Bismarck Larimore Bismarck Oakes
Peggy Puetz	Information Desk Attendant	Bismarck
Eli Nemer Peter Schafer Faye Caya Pete Nagel	<u>Bill Room Clerks</u>	Bismarck Bismarck Mandan Bismarck
· ·	Journal Room Clerks	
Dick Schell David Hogness Hella Keller		Bismarck Milnor Bismarck
Phyllis Connolly	<u>Chief Telephone Attendant</u>	Bismarck
Nancy Dawson	Telephone Attendants	Mandan
Lorraine Moos Irma Holmstrom		Mandan Bismarck
Merry Hook	<u>Telephone Page</u>	Bismarck
Joe Emineth	Parking Lot Attendant	Bismarck
Phyllis Johnson Candace Makeeff	<u>Stenographers</u>	Bismarck Mandan

Kathy Erhardt

Larimore DeLores Knutson Bismarck Sharon Jensen John Warner Bismarck Typists

Lynette Dunbar

Dickinson Bismarck Inez Ryberg

Pages and Bill Book Clerks

Brenda Smith Bismarck Sentinel Butte Carl Strum Cando Lana Overton Hope Olson Grand Forks Scott Power Rismarck Dawn VanHorn Bismarck Ken Radenz Bowbells Jeff Peterson Fargo Christine Harmon Bismarck Bismarck Matt Thon Bismarck Tracy Duchsherer Bunny Malm Flasher Fav Pitzer Mandan Scott Immel Hatton Perry Ostmo Sharon

<u>Janitors</u>

New Salem

Erick Glasser Bismarck Vern Hoffman Bismarck Jeffrey Jensen Rismarck Francis Scharosch Rismarck

OATH OF OFFICE TO EMPLOYEES

SPEAKER R. BERG ADMINISTERED the Oath of Office to the employees listed in the Procedural Committee Report.

MOTION

REP. D. OLSEN MOVED that HB 1058 be returned to the House floor from the Government and Veterans Affairs Committee for the purpose of withdrawal. which motion prevailed.

REQUEST

REP. COATS REQUESTED the unanimous consent of the House to withdraw HB 1058. There being no objection, it was so ordered by the Speaker.

MESSAGE TO THE HOUSE FROM THE SENATE (CAROL SIEGERT, SECRETARY) MR. SPEAKER: The Senate has passed unchanged: HCR 3010.

MOTION

REP. FREIER MOVED that the absent members be excused, which motion prevailed.

MOTION

REP. FREIER MOVED that the House be on the Ninth order of business and at the conclusion of that order, the House stand adjourned until 12:30 p.m., Friday, January 8, 1993, which motion prevailed.

FIRST READING OF HOUSE BILLS

Reps. Hanson, Kroeber and Sens. Goetz, Marks introduced:

HB 1223: A BILL for an Act to amend and reenact subsection 2 of section 36-01-00.1 of the North Dakota Century Code, relating to the definition of domestic animal for purposes of the state board of animal health. Was read the first time and referred to the Agriculture Committee.

Reps. Bernstein, Soukup, Gorman and Sens. Nalewaja, Solberg introduced: HB 1224: A BILL for an Act to amend and reenact section 65-02-17 of the North Dakota Century Code, relating to arbitration on workers' compensation claims.

Was read the first time and referred to the Industry, Business and Labor Committee.

Reps. Byerly, DeWitz, Torgerson and Sens. Krebsbach, Solberg introduced:

HB 1225: A BILL for an Act relating to care of an elderly adult; and to provide a penalty.

Was read the first time and referred to the Human Services Committee.

Reps. Byerly, Bateman, Wald and Sen. Solberg introduced:

HB 1226: A BILL for an Act to create and enact a new section to chapter 16.1-08 of the North Dakota Century Code, relating to restrictions on campaign contributions; to amend and reenact section 16.1-10-01 of the North Dakota Century Code, relating to corrupt practices; and to provide a penalty.

Was read the first time and referred to the Judiciary Committee.

Reps. Wald, Byerly, Kroeber and Sens. W. Stenehjem, Nalewaja introduced: HB 1227: A BILL for an Act to amend and reenact section 40-57.3-02 of the North Dakota Century Code, relating to transfers of funds between the city visitors' promotion fund and the city visitors' promotion capital construction fund.

Was read the first time and referred to the Political Subdivisions

Reps. Soukup, A. Olson, Howard introduced:

HB 1228: A BILL for an Act to create and enact nine new sections to chapter 43-04 of the North Dakota Century Code, relating to barber continuing education requirements; and to amend and reenact sections 43-04-01 and 43-04-39 of the North Dakota Century Code, relating to the registration of barbers by the board of barber examiners.

Was read the first time and referred to the Government and Veterans Affairs Committee.

Reps. Soukup, Tollefson, Mahoney introduced:

HB 1229: A BILL for an Act to amend and reenact section 23-06-03.1 of the North Dakota Century Code, relating to the deposit of payments made on pre-need funeral contracts.

Was read the first time and referred to the Human Services Committee.

Reps. Payne, Wald and Sens. Lindgren, Tallackson introduced:

HB 1230: A BILL for an Act to amend and reenact subsection 1 of section 26.1-26-31.1 of the North Dakota Century Code, relating to continuing education requirements for insurance agents.

Was read the first time and referred to the Industry, Business and Labor Committee.

The House stood adjourned pursuant to Representative Freier's motion.

ROY GILBREATH, Chief Clerk