



Tentative Agenda

25.5022.02000

Revised 8/8/2023

LEGISLATIVE PROCEDURE AND ARRANGEMENTS COMMITTEE

Wednesday, August 9, 2023 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

	•
9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Review of the <u>Supplementary Rules of Operation and Procedure of the North Dakota</u> <u>Legislative Management</u>
9:05 a.m.	Presentation by the Chairman regarding the duties and responsibilities of the committee
9:10 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of the <u>Guidelines for Use of Legislative</u> <u>Chambers and Displays in Legislative Assembly Hall and Memorial Hall</u> and the <u>Guidelines for Use of Legislative Committee Rooms in the North Dakota State Capitol</u>
9:20 a.m.	Consideration of a <u>request</u> to use the legislative chambers and committee rooms by the North Dakota High School Activities Association
9:25 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of the <u>Legislative Information Technology</u> <u>Stipend Policy</u>
9:35 a.m.	Comments from the Legislative Council staff regarding legislative area maintenance and facility improvement items
9:45 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by the Legislative Council staff of a proposed new format for amendment instructions
10:05 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of proposed legislative rule amendments:
	• <u>25.9073.01000</u>
	• <u>25.9072.01000</u>
10:15 a.m.	Presentation by Samantha E. Kramer, Senior Counsel and Assistant Code Revisor, Legislative Council, of information regarding the <u>Legislative Intern Program</u>
10:25 a.m.	Break
10:40 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of <u>background information</u> regarding the committee's study of the impact of term limits on the operation of the Legislative Assembly
11:00 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Sydne Enlund, State Outreach Manager, Public Affairs and Outreach, and Curt Stedron, Director, Legislative Training Institute, National Conference of State Legislatures, regarding training, resources, and services available to legislators
11:35 a.m.	Discussion regarding the addition of training and educational videos for new legislators and legislative candidates
11:45 a.m.	Committee discussion and directives
12:00 noon	Adjourn

A livestream of the meeting will be available to the public at: https://video.ndlegis.gov.

Committee Members

Senators: Jerry Klein (Chairman), Kathy Hogan, David Hogue, Merrill Piepkorn, Kristin Roers, Ronald

Sorvaag

Representatives: Glenn Bosch, Josh Boschee, Zachary Ista, Dennis Johnson, Mike Lefor, Emily O'Brien,

Austen Schauer

Staff Contact: Emily Thompson, Legal Division Director