

apprenticeship

1:05 p.m.

## **Tentative Agenda**

25.5033.02000

## **WORKFORCE COMMITTEE**

Thursday, September 28, 2023 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Comments by the Chairman	
9:05 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council Staff of the <u>Supplementary Rules of Operation</u> and <u>Procedure of the North Dakota Legislative Management</u>	
WORKFORCE TRAINING CENTER		
9:10 a.m.	FUNDING DISTRIBUTION MODEL STUDY  Presentation by Ms. Shannon Full, President and Chief Executive Officer, Fargo Moorhead West Fargo Chamber of Commerce, of an overview of workforce needs in North Dakota	
9:40 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a <u>background memorandum</u> regarding the committee's study of the workforce training center funding distribution model	
9:45 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Wayde Sick, Director and Executive Officer, Department of Career and Technical Education, regarding the committee's study of the workforce training center funding distribution model	
10:15 a.m.	Presentation by Dr. Doug Darling, President, Lake Region State College, regarding the committee's study of the workforce training center funding distribution model	
10:45 a.m.	Break	
10:55 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Ms. Sara Vollmer, Dean, Continuing Education and TrainND Southwest, Bismarck State College, regarding the TrainND program powered by Bismarck State College	
11:15 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. David Steffen, Executive Director, TrainND Northeast, Lake Region State College, regarding the TrainND program powered by Lake Region State College	
11:35 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Ms. Susie Richards Carlson, Director, TrainND Southeast, North Dakota State College of Science, regarding the TrainND program powered by North Dakota State College of Science	
11:55 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Kenley Nebeker, Executive Director, TrainND Northwest, Williston State College, regarding the TrainND program powered by Williston State College	
12:15 p.m.	Recess	
STATE OFFICE OF APPRENTICESHIP STUDY		
1:00 p.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a <u>background memorandum</u> regarding	

the committee's study of the feasibility and desirability of creating a state office of

Presentation by Mr. Sick regarding the committee's study of the feasibility and

desirability of creating a state office of apprenticeship

## **REPORTS**

1:30 p.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Nathan Svihovec, Commissioner, North Dakota Department of Labor and Human Rights, of a report regarding the committee's study of the feasibility and desirability of creating a state office of apprenticeship	
1:55 p.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Svihovec of a <u>report</u> on the status of the commissioner's review and meetings with each occupational board under North Dakota Century Code Title 43, the Education Standards and Practices Board, and the State Board of Law Examiners to establish a strategy to expedite licensure of out-of-state practitioners and revise continuing education requirements	
2:20 p.m.	Break	
2:30 p.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Ms. Katie Ralston Howe, Director, Workforce Development Division, Department of Commerce, on the licensure, apprenticeship, and immigration needs relating to commerce and workforce in North Dakota	
SOCIAL WORK LICENSURE COMPACT STUDY		
2:55 p.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a <u>background memorandum</u> regarding the committee's study of the feasibility and desirability of the Legislative Assembly enacting the social work licensure compact	
3:00 p.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Ms. Jennifer Boeckel, Chairman, Board of Social Work Examiners, regarding the committee's study of the feasibility and desirability of the Legislative Assembly enacting the social work licensure compact	
3:20 p.m.	Comments by interested persons	
3:45 p.m.	Committee discussion and directives	

A livestream of the meeting will be available to the public at: <a href="https://video.ndlegis.gov">https://video.ndlegis.gov</a>.

## **Committee Members**

Representatives: Shannon Roers Jones (Chairman), Dick Anderson, Landon Bahl, Josh Christy, Hamida

Dakane, Jay Fisher, Mike Motschenbacher, Scott Wagner, Jonathan Warrey

Senators: Jeff Barta, Ryan Braunberger, Randy A. Burckhard, Michael A. Wobbema

Staff Contact: Dustin A. Richard, Counsel

4:00 p.m.

Adjourn