

Adjourn

2:45 p.m.

Tentative Agenda

25.5040.02000

WATER TOPICS OVERVIEW COMMITTEE

Tuesday, September 12, 2023 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call
	Comments by the Chairman
9:05 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of:
	• The <u>Supplementary Rules of Operation and Procedure of the North Dakota</u> <u>Legislative Management</u>
	A <u>background memorandum</u> on the Water Topics Overview Committee
9:15 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Joel Paulsen, Executive Director, Metro Flood Diversion Authority, regarding the status of the FM Area Diversion Project
9:35 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Ms. Dani Quissell, Executive Vice President, North Dakota Water Users Association and Executive Director, North Dakota Irrigation Association, regarding an overview of and update from the North Dakota Water Users Association and North Dakota Irrigation Association
9:55 a.m.	Presentation by a representative of the Souris River Joint Board, regarding an update on the Mouse River flood control project
10:10 a.m.	Break
10:20 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Ms. Andrea Travnicek, Director, Department of Water Resources, regarding the activities of the Department of Water Resources
11:20 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Jason Zimmerman, Commissioner, State Water Commission, regarding the activities of the State Water Commission
11:40 a.m.	Recess
12:40 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Eric Volk, Executive Director, Rural Water Systems Association, regarding an update on the rural water systems in the state
1:00 p.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Duane DeKrey, General Manager, Garrison Diversion Conservancy District, regarding the status of the Red River Valley Water Supply Project
1:20 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Matt Gardner, Executive Director, North Dakota League of Cities, regarding municipal water supply projects
1:40 p.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by Ms. Tami Madsen, Executive Director, Western Area Water Supply Authority, regarding the status of the Western Area Water Supply Project
2:00 p.m.	Comments from interested persons
2:15 p.m.	Committee discussion

A livestream of the meeting will be available to the public at: https://video.ndlegis.gov.

Committee Members

Senators: Ronald Sorvaag (Chairman), Michael Dwyer, David Hogue, Larry Luick, Jeffery J. Magrum,

Jim P. Roers

Representatives: Mike Beltz, Jared Hagert, Jorin Johnson, Donald W. Longmuir, Bob Martinson, Jon O.

Nelson, Anna S. Novak, Jeremy Olson, Todd Porter, Matthew Ruby, Steve Swiontek

Staff Contact: Austin Gunderson, Counsel