

Tentative Agenda

25.5092.02000

TAXATION COMMITTEE

Tuesday, February 6, 2024 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

10:00 a.m. Call to order

Roll call

Consideration of the minutes of the October 5, 2023, meeting

GENERAL INFORMATION

10:05 a.m. <u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Brian Kroshus, Tax Commissioner, regarding an introduction and general overview of the Tax Department

AGRICULTURAL COMMODITY STORAGE STRUCTURE PROPERTY TAX EXEMPTION STUDY

10:20 a.m. <u>Presentation</u> by Ms. Terin Riley, representative of interested persons and potato farmers from Pembina County, regarding proposed legislative changes related to taxation of agricultural storage structure property

10:40 a.m. Presentation by a representative of the Northern Plains Potato Growers Association, regarding a general overview of good agricultural practices related to potato farming and storage

11:00 a.m. Presentation by a representative of the North Dakota Association of Counties and a county representative regarding administration of the farm structure property tax exemption across counties, the potential shift in tax burden if a property tax exemption were enacted for privately owned agricultural storage structures classified as commercial property, and the impact of abandoned agricultural storage structures classified as commercial property on the counties in which the structures are located

11:30 a.m. Presentation by a representative of the North Dakota League of Cities regarding the potential shift in tax burden if a property tax exemption were enacted for privately owned agricultural storage structures classified as commercial property and the impact of abandoned agricultural storage structures classified as commercial property on the cities in which the structures are located

11:50 a.m. <u>Presentation</u> by Mr. Stu Letcher, Executive Vice President, North Dakota Grain Dealers Association, regarding the use of grain elevators across the state

12:10 p.m. Comments by interested persons12:20 p.m. Committee discussion and directives

12:30 p.m. Recess

ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT TAX INCENTIVES STUDY

1:30 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a <u>background memorandum</u> on the coal severance and conversion tax exemptions

1:35 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a <u>background memorandum</u> on the oil and gas gross production and oil extraction tax exemptions

1:40 p.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a <u>background memorandum</u> on the fuel tax refunds for certain users
1:45 p.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a <u>background memorandum</u> on the biodiesel fuel credits
1:50 p.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a <u>background memorandum</u> on the carbon dioxide capture and injection sales tax exemption
1:55 p.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a <u>background memorandum</u> on the workforce recruitment credit
2:00 p.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a <u>background memorandum</u> on the internship program credit
2:05 p.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by a representative of the Tax Department regarding fiscal information pertaining to the economic development tax incentives selected for study
2:30 p.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by a representative of the Economic Development Association of North Dakota regarding the economic development tax incentives selected for study
2:50 p.m.	Comments by interested persons
3:00 p.m.	Committee discussion and directives
ADMINISTRATIVE MATTERS	
3:10 p.m.	Discussion regarding the possible addition of a study topic
3:30 p.m.	Committee discussion and directives
3:45 p.m.	Adjourn

A livestream of the meeting will be available to the public at: https://video.ndlegis.gov.

Committee Members

Representatives: Jared Hagert (Chairman), Jason Dockter, Jim Grueneich, Patrick Hatlestad, Craig Headland, Donna Henderson, Jim Kasper, Ben Koppelman, Mike Motschenbacher,

Randy A. Schobinger, Vicky Steiner

Senators: Justin Gerhardt, Jordan L. Kannianen, Randy D. Lemm, Merrill Piepkorn, Mark F. Weber

Staff Contact: Megan J. Gordon, Counsel