122 COUNTIES

receiving such bill or account shall examine the same and pay the whole thereof or so much as is legal, proper and correct.

When to take

Sec. 3. This act shall be in force and effect from and after its passage and approval.

Approved, January 3, 1868.

COUNTIES.

CHAPTER VII.

AN ACT TO CREATE AND ESTABLISH THE COUNTY OF CARTER, AND PROVIDING FOR THE APPOINTMENT OF OFFICERS THEREIN.

Be it enacted by the Legislative Assembly of the Territory of Dakota:

Boundaries,

Section 1. That all that portion of the county of Laramie, and Territory of Dakota, west of the one hundred and seventh degree and thirty minutes west longitude, be and the same is hereby creeted into a county by the name of Carter, and the following officers are hereby appointed for said county, to act until the next ensuing general election:

For county commissioners, James W. Lowery, William Misshany, William Rose;

For judge of probate, Haney B. Hubble;

For sheriff, John R. Murphy;

For register of deeds, A. G. Turner;

For justices of the peace, Frederick Staples, Francis D. McGovern;

For coroner, Nathaniel McDaniels.

Moaries putiic,

Sec. 2. The governor may appoint as many notaries public as he may deem necessary for said county.

- Sec. 3. The county seat of said county is hereby located at county seat South Pass City.
- Sec. 4. The county commissioners herein appointed shall, on or before the first day of May next, qualify and enter upon the discharge of their duties, and as soon as two or more shall qualify may hold a meeting of the board at the county seat of said sounty, first giving ten days notice of such meeting by publication in a newspaper published in said county, if there be one, if not, by posting notices in at least five of the most public places in said county, and may continue in session five days if the business requires it. At such meeting or at any subsequent regular meeting, said board may fill all vacancies that may exist in the county offices, and such persons so appointed shall hold until the next ensuing general election.

until the next ensuing general election.

Sec. 5. The county commissioners shall have the power at Their powers any regular meeting of the board to make an order increasing

Provided, however, That the fees of said officers shall not be increased more than four times what is now allowed by law.

- Sec. 6. The said county is hereby attached to the county of county attached to Laramie for representative and judicial purposes.
- Sec. 7. This act shall take effect and be in force from and when to take after its passage and approval.

Approved, December 27, 1869.

the fees of the county officers of said county:

CHAPTER VIII.

AN ACT TO RE-ORGANIZE THE COUNTY OF LARAMIE.

Be it enacted by the Legislative Assembly of the Territory of Dakota:

Section 1. That chapter — of the session laws of 1866 67, Certain act of entitled "an act to create and establish the county of Laramie," the ression laws of 1866 67 approved January 9th, 1867, be and the same is hereby repeals

ed, and all elections held or pretended to be held under and by virtue of said act is hereby declared null and void and shall be held for naught.

Boundaries of Laramie county appointment of officers Sec. 2. That all that portion of the Territory of Dakota, west of the one hundred and fourth meridian west, and east of the one hundred and seventh degree and thirty minutes west, be, and the same is, hereby erected into a county by the name of Laramie, and the following officers are hereby appointed for said county to act until the next ensuing general election and until their successors are duly elected and qualified:

County commissioners—Benjamin Ellinger, Roger T. Beal and Patrick McDonald.

Sheriff-J. L. Laird.

Judge of Probate-Wm. L. Kuykendall.

Register of Deeds-Wm. Morris.

Justices of the Peace—N. J. Bond, A. B. Moore, and Lewis Loweril.

Constable-James Masterson.

Coroner—F. W. Johnson.

County Superintendent of Public Instruction—J. H. Gilder-sleeve.

Surveyor-S. H. Winson.

District Attorney-Ed. P. Johnson.

County commissioners to fill vacancies

Sec. 3. The county commissioners may fill all vacancies in county offices and the persons so appointed shall hold their respective offices until the next general election and until their successors are duly elected and qualified.

Notaries public

Sec. 4. The Governor may appoint as many notaries public for said county as he may deem necessary.

County Seat

Sec. 5. The county seat of said county is hereby located at the city of Cheyenne.

County entitled to one representative in the Legislative assembly Sec. 6. Until otherwise provided by law said county shall be entitled to one member of the House of Representatives of the Legislative Assembly.

When to take effect

Sec. 7. This act shall take effect and be in force from and after its passage and approval.

Approved, January 3, 1868.

CHAPTER IX.

AN ACT TO ORGANIZE THE COUNTY OF LINCOLN.

Be it enacted by the Legislative Assembly of the Territory of Daketa:

Section 1. That all that portion of the Territory of Dakota, Boundaries embraced within the following described boundaries shall be known as the county of Lincoln, to wit: Commencing at a point on the Big Sioux river at the north east corner of Union county, it being the north east corner of Township No. 95 north, thence west to the south west corner of Township No. 96 north of range fifty-three west; thence east to the Big Sioux river; thence down and along the course of said river to the place of beginning. The county seat of said county, to be at Canton, on the southeast quarter of the southeast quarter of section No. fourteen, Township No. ninety-eight north of Range And that until the next ensuing general elecforty-nine west. tion, the following named persons be appointed officers of said county, to wit:

Augustus J. Linderman, H. P. Hyde, Benjamin Hill, county commissioners;

C. H. Smith, sheriff;

J. Q. Fitsgerald, probate judge;

William Hill, register of deeds;

W. Hyde and W. S. Smith, justices of the peace;

James Weekly, constable;

Joseph Weekly, coroner. And that the said officers be empowered to discharge all the duties pertaining to their several offices.

Provided, That the said county of Lincoln shall remain as now, attached to Union county for Representative and Judicial purposes.

Sec. 2. This act shall take effect and be in force from and when to take after its passage and approval by the governor.

Approved December 30, 1867.

CHAPTER X.

AN ACT TO ORGANIZE THE COUNTY OF MINNEHAHA.

Be it enacted by the Legislative Assembly of the Territory of Dakota:

County commiss-

Section 1. That John Nelson, John Thompson, and Wm. Melville, be, and the same are hereby appointed county commissioners of the county of Minnehaha, and said county commissioners shall have full power and authority to appoint all other officers for said county to complete the organization of said county of Minnehaha.

Register of deeds

Sec. 2. That Edward Broughton be, and he is hereby appointed register of deeds of said county of Minnehaha.

When to take

Sec. 3. This act shall take effect from and after its passage and approval.

Approved, January 4, 1868.

CHEYENNE CITY.

CHAPTER XI.

AN ACT TO INCORPORATE THE CITY OF CHEYENNE, DAKOTA TERRITORY.

Be it enacted by the Legislative Assembly of the Territory of Dakota:

Description

Section 1. That all that portion of territory surveyed, laid out and platted as a town site, situated on Crow Creek where the Union Pacific Railroad crosses the same, together with all the additions that may be hereafter made thereto, according to law, is hereby desclared to be a corporation by the name of the "City of Cheyenne."