APPORTIONMENT.

CHAPTER 7.

AN ACT TO DIVIDE THE TERRITORY OF DAKOTA INTO COUNCIL AND REPRESENTATIVE DISTRICTS, AND APPORTIONING THE COUNCILMEN AND REPRESENTATIVES THEREIN.

Be it enacted by the Legislative Assembly of the Territory of Dakota:

SECTION 1. That the Legislative Assembly of the Territory Assembly to of Dakota, shall, until otherwise directed by law, consist of ^{consist of.} thirteen (13) Councilmen, and twenty-six (26) members of the House of Representatives.

SEC. 2. The county of Union shall constitute the first coun-^{First Council} cil and representative district, and shall be entitled to a re-^{tative District.} presentation of three (3) members of the Council, and five (5) members of the House of Representatives.

SEC. 3. The county of Clay shall constitute the second council and Repreril and representative district, and shall be entitled to a repre-sentative list. sentation of three (3) members of the Council and five members of the House of Representatives.

SEC. 4. The county of Yankton shall constitute the third Third Council council and representative district, and shall be entitled to a tative District. representation of four (4) members of the Council and four (4) members of the House of Representatives.

SEC. 5. The counties of Bon Homme and Hutchinson shall Fourth Counconstitute the fourth council and representative district, and representative Dist. shall be entitled to a representation of one (1) member of the Council and two (2) members of the House of Representatives.

APPORTIONMENT.

Fifth Council and Represen-tative District.

Sixth Council

Seventh Council and Repre-sontative Dis-trict.

To take effect. when.

SEC. 6. The counties of Charles Mix and Buffalo shall constitute the fifth council and representative district, and shall be entitled to a representation of one (1) member of the Council and two (2) members of the House of Representatives.

SEC. 7. The counties of Lincoln, Minnehaha, Brookings, and Represen-tative District. Duel and Armstrong shall constitute the sixth council and representative district, and shall have a representation of seven (7) members of the House of Representatives.

> SEC. 8. The counties of Pembina and Dakota shall constitute the seventh council and representative district, and shall be entitled to a representation of one member of the Council and one member of the House of Representatives.

> SEC. 9. This act shall take effect and be in force from and after its passage and approval by the Governor.

Approved, January 10, 1871.

CIVIL CODE.

CHAPTER 8.

AN ACT TO ESTABLISH A CIVIL CODE.

Be it enacted by the Legislative Assembly of the Territory of Dakota:

GENERAL DEFINITIONS AND DIVISIONS.

1. Title of Code. SECTION

- 2. Definition of Law.
- 3. Action of sovereign power.
- 4. Two kinds of law.
- 5, 6. Common law.
- 7. Two kinds of civil rights.
- 8. Rights, how modified.
- 9. Divisions of the Civil Code.