COMMISSIONER DISTRICTS.

CHAPTER 4.

BON HOMME COUNTY.

An Act to repeal an act of the special and private laws of 1872-3, creating three commissioner districts in Bon Homme County.

Be it enacted by the Legislative Assembly of the Territory of Dakota:

Certain act repealed.

SECTION 1. That chapter 8 of special and private laws of 1872-3, approved January 9th, 1873, creating three commissioner districts in Bon Homme county, be and the same is hereby repealed.

When to take effect.

SEC. 2. This act shall take effect and be in force from and after its passage and approval.

Approved, January 6, 1875.

CHAPTER 5.

LAKE COUNTY.

AN ACT to divide the county of Lake into three commissioner districts.

Be it enacted by the Legislative Assembly of the Territory of Dakota:

County divided into three commissioner districts.

SECTION 1. That the county of Lake be and the same is hereby divided into three commissioner districts, to be bounded as follows:

Boundaries of District No. 1 to commence at the northeast corner of the county; thence west to the northwest corner of the county; thence south to the southwest corner of section seven, (7) township 106, range 54; thence east to the northwest corner of section sixteen, (16) township 106, range 52; thence south one mile and a half; thence east to the east line of the county: thence north to the place of beginning.

District No. 2 to commence at the southeast corner of dis-Second district trict number one; thence west to the line between sections twenty-two and twenty-three, township 106, range 52; thence south to the south line of the county; thence east to the east line of the county; thence north to the place of beginning.

District No. 3 to commence at the southwest corner of dis-Third district. trict number one; thence along the south boundary of district number one to the northwest corner of district number three: thence south to the south line of the county, thence west to the west line of the county; thence north to the place of beginning.

SEC. 2. That at the first general election held in said county When commissioners to and annually thereafter, there shall be elected one commis- be elected. sioner for each of the districts named, each of whom shall be a resident of the district which he is to represent, and to be voted for only by the electors of said district, whose duties and powers shall be the same as now prescribed by law.

Sec. 3. That at the first meeting of said commissioners and When commissioners to immediately after qualifying, they shall provide for the expi-provide for terms of office. ration of the term of service of one of their number at the end of one, two and three years severally, the same to be determined by lot; and at all subsequent elections the vacancies thus provided for shall be filled by the election of one commissioner, who shall hold his office for three years: Provided however, That vacancies which shall otherwise occur shall be filled as now provided by law, the vacancy thus filled to be for the unexpired term only.

Proviso.

SEC. 4. This act shall take effect and be in force from and When to take after its passage and approval.

Approved, January 12, 1875.

CHAPTER 6.

MOODY COUNTY.

An Act to create three commissioner districts in Moody County.

Be it enacted by the Legislative Assembly of the Territory of Dakota:

Section 1. That the county of Moody be and the same is County divided into three hereby divided into three districts to be known as commis-districts. sioner districts, and to be bounded as follows:

Boundaries of first district.

District number one to commence at the northeast corner of the county; thence west to the northwest corner of the county; thence south to the southwest corner of section seven (7), township 107, range 50; thence east to the east line of the county; thence north to the place of beginning.

Boundaries of second district.

District No. 2 to commence at the southeast corner of district number one; thence west to the west line of the county; thence south eight miles to the southwest corner of section 19, township 106, range 50; thence east to the east line of the county; thence north to the place of beginning.

Boundaries of third district.

District No. 3 to commence at the southeast corner of district No. 2; thence west to the west line of the county; thence south to the south line of the county; thence east to the east line of the county; thence north to the place of beginning.

When commissioners to be elected.

SEC 2. That at the first general election, and annually thereafter, there shall be elected one commissioner for each of the districts named, each of whom shall be a resident of the district which he is to represent, and to be voted for only by the electors of said district, whose duty and power shall be the same as is now prescribed by law.

Commissioners to decide term

SEC. 3. That at the first meeting of said commissioners, and of office by lot immediately after qualifying, they shall provide for the expiration of the term of service of one of their number at the end of one, two and threely ears severally, the same to be determined by lot, and [at] all subsequent elections the vacancies thus provided for shall be filled by the election of one commissioner, who shall hold his office for three years: Provided, That vacancies which shall otherwise occur shall be filled as now provided by law, the vacancy thus tilled to be for the unexpired term only.

When to take effect.

SEC. 4. This act shall take effect and be in force from and after its passage and approval.

Approved, January 6, 1875.

CHAPTER 7.

UNION COUNTY.

An Acr to re-establish commissioner and assessor districts in Union county, Dakota Territory.

First district defined.

Be it enacted by the Legislative Assembly of the Territory of Dakota: Section 1. That the townships known as Big Sioux, Jefferson and Civil Bend shall, and the same are hereby made to, constitute the first commissioner district.

SEC. 2. That the townships known as Elk Point and Brule defined. Creek shall, and the same are hereby made to, constitute the second commissioner district.

SEC. 3. That the townships known as Sioux Valley, Virginia, defined. Spink and Prairie shall, and the same are hereby made to, constitute the third commissioner district.

Sec. 4. That the townships of Big Sioux, Jefferson, Civil Assessors districts defined. Bend, Elk Point, Brule Creek, Sioux Valley, Virginia, Spink, and Prairie, shall each constitute one assessor district.

Sec. 5. That the legal voters in each such commissioner and respondent assessor district shall have power to elect at the next general election, and biennially thereafter, one commissioner for each such commissioner district so constituted, and one assessor for each assessor district so constituted, who shall hold their respective offices for the term of two years, and until their successors are elected and qualified; and the duties of said officers shall be the same as now or may be preserted by law.

- SEC. 6. That all laws in conflict with the provisions of this acts repealed. act are hereby repealed, so far as it relates to Union county.
- SEC. 7. This act shall take effect and be in force from and whentotake after its passage and approval.

Approved, January 12, 1875.

DISTRICT COURT.

CHAPTER 8.

UNION COUNTY.

An Acr to provide for the holding of special terms of the district court in and for the county of Union. in the Territory of Dakota.

Be it enacted by the Legislative Assembly of the Territory of Dakota:

Section 1. That there shall be held annually two special termstobeheld terms of the district courts in and for the county of Union, in union ounty.