SEC. 2. That the townships known as Elk Point and Brule defined. Creek shall, and the same are hereby made to, constitute the second commissioner district.

SEC. 3. That the townships known as Sioux Valley, Virginia, defined. Spink and Prairie shall, and the same are hereby made to, constitute the third commissioner district.

Sec. 4. That the townships of Big Sioux, Jefferson, Civil Assessors districts defined. Bend, Elk Point, Brule Creek, Sioux Valley, Virginia, Spink, and Prairie, shall each constitute one assessor district.

Sec. 5. That the legal voters in each such commissioner and respondent assessor district shall have power to elect at the next general election, and biennially thereafter, one commissioner for each such commissioner district so constituted, and one assessor for each assessor district so constituted, who shall hold their respective offices for the term of two years, and until their successors are elected and qualified; and the duties of said officers shall be the same as now or may be presented by law.

- SEC. 6. That all laws in conflict with the provisions of this acts repealed. act are hereby repealed, so far as it relates to Union county.
- SEC. 7. This act shall take effect and be in force from and whentotake after its passage and approval.

Approved, January 12, 1875.

DISTRICT COURT.

CHAPTER 8.

UNION COUNTY.

An Acr to provide for the holding of special terms of the district court in and for the county of Union. in the Territory of Dakota.

Be it enacted by the Legislative Assembly of the Territory of Dakota:

Section 1. That there shall be held annually two special termstobeheld terms of the district courts in and for the county of Union, in union ounty.

the Territory of Dakota, on the second Tuesdays of August and March, at which all issues of law or of facts not requiring the intervention of a jury, and all motions, may be tried and heard.

When to take effect.

SEC. 2. This act shall take effect and be in force from and after its passage and approval.

Approved, January 15, 1875.

EDUCATION.

CHAPTER 9.

THE CITY OF YANKTON.

An Acr providing a board of education for the city of Yankton. Dakota Territory, and regulating the management of the public schools therein.

Be it enacted by the Legislative Assembly of the Territory of Dukota:

Establishment of board of ed-ucation.

Section 1. That there be and there is hereby established a board of education for the city of Yankton, Dakota Territory.

Number of board.

aned.

SEC. 2. Said board shall consist of eight persons, two for each district of said city, as herein described. All that portion of said city east of Walnut street and south of Fourth Districts de-street shall constitute the first district; all west of Walnut street and south of Fourth street shall constitute the second district; all north of Fourth street and west of Walnut street shall constitute the third district; all north of Fourth street and east of Walnut street shall constitute the fourth district: Board to have Provided however, That said board shall have the power at any regular meeting held within two months immediately

> prior to any annual election, to change and alter such district, and to redistrict from time to time said city for such purposes.

districts.