Apportionment.

CHAPTER 2.

AN ACT amending Chapter 48 of the Political Code, relating to Apportionment of Representation in the Legislative Assembly.

Be it enacted by the Legislative Assembly of the Territory of Dakota:

- § 1. First district.] That chapter 48 of the Political Code of this Territory, be and the same is hereby amended as follows: "§ 1. The county of Union shall constitute the first council and representative district, and shall be entitled to one member of the council and two members of the house of representatives."
- § 2. Second district. The county of Clay shall constitute the second council and representative district, and shall be entitled to one member of the council and one member of the house of representatives.
- § 3. Third district.] The county of Yankton shall constitute the third council and representative district, and shall be entitled to one member of the council and three members of the house of representatives.
- § 4. FOURTH DISTRICT.] The counties of Bon Homme, Charles Mix, Brule and Buffalo, shall constitute the fourth council and representative district, and shall be entitled to one member of the council and one member of the house of representatives.
- § 5. Fifth district.] The counties of Lawrence, Pennington and Custer shall constitute the fifth council and representative district, and shall be entitled to two members of the council and five members of the house of representatives.
- § 6. Sixth district.] The county of Lincoln shall constitute the sixth council and representative district, and shall be entitled to one member of the council and one member of the house of representatives.

- § 7. Seventh district.] The county of Minnehaha shall constitute the seventh council and representative district, and shall be entitled to one member of the council and two members of the house of representatives.
- § 8. Eighth district.] The counties of Lake, Moody, Brookings, Deuel, Hamlin, Codington, Wood and Grant shall constitute the eighth council and representative district, and shall be entitled to one member of the council and two members of the house of representatives.
- § 9. NINTH DISTRICT.] The counties of Cass, Richland, Barnes, Ransom and La Moure shall constitute the ninth council and representative district and shall be entitled to one member of the council and two members of the house of representatives.
- § 10. Tenth district.] The counties of Traill, Grand Forks and Pembina shall constitute the tenth council and representative district, and shall be entitled to one member of the council and two members of the house of representatives.
- § 11. ELEVENTH DISTRICT.] The counties of Burleigh, Kidder, Morton, Emmons, Stutsman, Foster, Ramsey, Stark, Billings, and Stevens shall constitute the eleventh council and representative district, and shall be entitled to one member of the council and one member of the house of representatives.
- § 12. THIRTEENTH DISTRICT.] The counties of Turner and McCook shall constitute the thirteenth representative district, and shall be entitled to one member of the house of representatives.
- § 13. FOURTEENTH DISTRICT.] The counties of Hutchinson, Armstrong, Hanson and Davison shall constitute the fourteenth representative district, and shall be entitled to one member of the house of representatives.
- § 14. All acts and parts of acts in conflict with this act are hereby repealed.
- § 15. This act shall take effect and be in force from and after its passage.

Approved, February 21, 1879.