6

to be served or filed in order to bring the cause appealed upon the trial calendar in the district court, but said appeal shall be filed by the clerk on payment of his costs and entered upon the calendar and shall stand for trial as soon as the same is reached in the regular call of the calendar thereafter. If not so filed within fifteen days from the time such appeal was perfected, then the same shall be dismissed by the order of the court at any time thereafter, upon motion of the appellee, after three days notice to the appellant or his attorney.

§ 2. This act shall take effect and be in force from and after its passage and approval.

Approved, February 17th, 1881.

Apportionment.

CHAPTER 6.

AN ACT amending Chapter Two of the Session Laws of 1879, relating to Apportionment of Representation in the Legislative Assembly.

Be it enacted by the Legislative Assembly of the Territory of Dakota:

- § 1. First district.] That chapter two of the session laws of 1879 be and the same is hereby amended as follows: The counties of Union and Clay shall constitute the first council and representative district, and shall be entitled to one member of the council and two members of the house of representatives, and Union county shall be the senior county.
- § 2. Second district.] The counties of Lincoln, Turner and McCook shall constitute the second council and representative district, and shall be entitled to one member of the council and two members of the house of representatives, and Turner county shall be the senior county.
- § 3. THIRD DISTRICT.] The county of Minnehaha shall constitute the third council and representative district, and shall be entitled to one member of the council and one member of the house of representatives.

- § 4. FOURTH DISTRICT.] The county Yankton shall constitute the fourth council and representative district, and shall be entitled to one member of the council and one member of the house of representatives.
- § 5. FIFTH DISTRICT.] The counties of Bon Homme, Hutchinson, Douglass and Charles Mix shall constitute the fifth council and representative district, and shall be entitled to one member of the council and two members of the house of representatives, and Bon Homme shall be the senior county.
- § 6. Sixth district.] The counties of Moody, Lake and Brookings shall constitute the sixth council and representative district, and shall be entitled to one member of the council and two members of the house of representatives, and Lake shall be the senior county.
- § 7. Seventh district.] The counties of Hamlin, Deuel, Grant, Codington, Clark, Spink, Day, Brown, Campbell, McPherson, Walworth, Edmunds, Potter and Faulk shall constitute the seventh council and representative district, and shall be entitled to one member of the council and two memof the house of representatives, and Deuel shall be the senior county.
- § 8. Eighth district.] The counties of Hanson, Davison, Aurora, Brule, Buffalo, Hughes, Sully, Hyde, Hand, Beadle, Kingsbury and Miner shall constitute the eighth council and representative district, and shall be entitled to one member of the council and one member of the house of representatives, and the county of Davison shall be the senior county.
- § 9. NINTH DISTRICT.] The counties of Pennington and Custer shall constitute the ninth representative district, and shall be entitled to one member of the house of representatives, and Pennington shall be the senior county.
- § 10. Tenth district.] The counties of Lawrence and Mandan shall constitute the tenth council and representative district, and shall be entitled to one member of the council and three members of the house of representatives, and Lawrence shall be the senior county.
- § 11. ELEVENTH DISTRICT.] The counties of Pembina, Cavalier and Rolette shall constitute the eleventh representative district, and shall be entitled to one member of the house of representatives, and Pembina shall be the senior county.

- § 12. TWELFTH DISTRICT.] The counties of Grand Forks, Traill and Walsh constitute the twelfth council and representative district, and shall be entitled to one member of the council and two members of the house of representatives, and Grand Forks shall be the senior county.
- § 13. THIRTEENTH DISTRICT.] The counties of Cass and Richland shall constitute the thirteenth council and representative district, and shall be entitled to one member of the council and two members of the house of representatives, and Cass shall be the senior county.
- § 14. FOURTEENTH DISTRICT.] The counties of Barnes, Ransom, LaMoure, Stutsman, Griggs, Foster, Gingras, Kidder, Burleigh, Sheridan, Stevens, Renville, Mountraille, Wallette, Howard, Williams, Mercer, Morton, Stark, Billings, Emmons, Logan and Ramsey shall constitute the fourteenth council and representative district, and shall be entitled to one member of the council and two members of the house of representatives, and Stutsman shall be the senior county.
- § 15. All acts and parts of acts in conflict with this act are hereby repealed.
- § 16. This act shall take effect and be in force from and after its passage and approval.

Note by the Secretary of the Territory.

The foregoing act having been presented to the Governor of the Territory for his approval and not having been returned by him to the House of the Legislative Assembly, in which it originated, within the time prescribed by the Organic Act, has become a law without his approval.

feo. H. Hand,

Secretary of the Territory.