Appeals in Civil Actions.

WHEN BOND NOT REQUIRED.

CHAPTER 7.

AN ACT to amend Section (414) Four Hundred and Fourteen of Chapter (XVI) Sixteen of the Code of Civil Procedure of Dakota Territory.

Be it enacted by the Legislative Assembly of the Territory of Dakota:

§ 1. Bond not required in certain cases.] That section (414) four hundred and fourteen of chapter (XVI) sixteen of the Code of Civil Procedure of Dakota Territory, be and the same is hereby amended by adding thereto after the word "respondent," the following words: "Provided, That this section shall not apply to the Territory of Dakota, or any county thereof, and no bond shall in any action or proceeding be required of the Territory of Dakota, or any county thereof, on any appeal to any court of the Territory of Dakota, or to the Supreme Court of the United States, when the Territory or any county shall be the party directly interested therein."

Approved, March 12, 1885.

Apportionment.

CHAPTER 8.

AN ACT to amend Chapter Seven (7) of the Session Laws of 1883.

Be it enacted by the Legislative Assembly of the Territory of Dakota:

§ 1. First district.] That chapter seven (7) of the session laws of 1883 be amended to read as follows: The counties of Union, Clay and Lincoln shall constitute the first council and representative district, and Union county shall be the senior county.

- § 2. Second district.] The counties of Yankton, Hutchinson, and Turner shall constitute the second council and representative district, and shall be entitled to elect one member of the council and three members of the house of representatives, and Yankton county shall be the senior county.
- § 3. Third district.] The counties of Bon Homme, Douglas, and Charles Mix shall constitute the third council and representative district, and shall be entitled to elect one member of the council and one member of the house of representatives, and Bon Homme county shall be the senior county.
- § 4. FOURTH DISTRICT.] The counties of Minnehaha, McCook, and Hanson shall constitute the fourth council and representative district and Minnehaha shall be the senior county, and they shall be entitled to elect one member of the council and three members of the house of representatives
- § 5. FIFTH DISTRICT.] The counties of Davidson, Aurora and Brule shall constitute the fifth council and representative district, and the county of Davison shall be the senior county.
- § 6. Sixth district.] The counties of Moody, Lake and Miner shall constitute the sixth council and representative district and Moody county shall be the senior county, and they shall be entitled to one member of the council and two members of the house of representatives.
- § 7. SEVENTH DISTRICT.]. The counties of Brookings, Kingsbury, Hamlin and Deuel shall constitute the seventh council and representative district, and Brookings shall be the senior county.
- § 8. Eighth district.] The counties of Beadle, Sanborn and Jerauld shall constitute the eighth council and representative district, and Beadle county shall be the senior county.
- § 9. NINTH DISTRICT.] The counties of Spink and Clark shall constitute the ninth council and representative district, and Spink county shall be the senior county.
- § 10. Tenth district.] The counties of Hand, Faulk, Potter, Walworth and Campbell shall constitute the tenth council and representative district, and Hand county shall be the senior county.
- § 11. ELEVENTH DISTRICT.] The counties of Hyde, Hughes, Sully and Buffalo shall constitute the eleventh council and representative district, and Hughes county shall be the senior county.
- § 12. TWELFTH DISTRICT.] The counties of Coddington, Grant, Roberts and Day shall constitute the twelfth council and representative district, and Grant shall be the senior county.
- § 13. THIRTEENTH DISTRICT.] The counties of Marshall, Brown, Edmunds and Mcl'herson shall constitute the thirteenth council and representative district, and Brown shall be the senior county.

- § 14. FOURTEENTH DISTRICT.] The counties of Fall River, Custer, Pennington, Lawrence and Butte shall constitute the four-teenth council and representative district, and shall be entitled to elect two councilmen and three representatives, and the county of Lawrence shall be the senior county.
- § 15. FIFTEENTH DISTRICT.] The counties of Dickey, Sargeant, McIntosh and Richland shall constitute the fifteenth council and representative district, and Richland shall be the senior county.
- § 16. SIXTEENTH DISTRICT.] The county of Cass shall constitute the sixteenth council and representative district.
- § 17. Seventeenth district.] The counties of Ransom, La Moure, Logan and Barnes shall constitute the seventeenth council and representative district, and Barnes shall be the senior county.
- § 18. EIGHTEENTH DISTRICT.] The counties of Traill, Steele, and Griggs shall constitute the eighteenth council and representative district, and Traill shall be the senior county.
- § 19. NINETEENTH DISTRICT.] The county of Grand Forks shall constitute the nineteenth council and representative district.
- § 20. TWENTIETH DISTRICT] The counties of Walsh, Blaine, and Ramsey shall constitute the twentieth council and representative district, and Walsh shall be the senior county.
- § 21. Twenty-first district | The counties of Pembina, Cavalier, Towner, Roulette and Bottineau shall constitute the twenty-first council and representative district, and Pembina shall be the senior county.
- § 22. TWENTY-SECOND DISTRICT.] The counties of Stutsman, Foster, Nelson, Wells, Benson, De Smit, Stanton, McHenry and Eddy shall constitute the twenty-second council and representative district, and Stutsman shall be the senior county.
- § 23. TWENTY-THIRD DISTRICT.] The counties of Emmons, Kidder, Burleigh, Sheridan, McLean, Mercer, Norton, Boreman, Hellinger, Bowman, Villard, Billings, Stark, Williams, Dunn, Oliver, McKenzie, Allred, Wallace, Garfield, Ward, Stevens, Wynn, Renville, Mountraille, Flannery and Buford shall constitute the twenty-third council and representative district, and Burleigh shall be the senior county.
- § 24. Number apportioned to each district.] Each of the districts, except as otherwise provided for shall be entitled to elect one member of the council and two members of the house of representatives.
- § 25. All acts or parts of acts in conflict with this act are hereby repealed.

Approved, March 13, 1885.