# THE LAWS

### **AGRICULTURE**

#### CHAPTER 1.

S. B. No. 19-Mostad.

#### CO-OPERATIVE AGRICULTURAL WORK.

An Act to Amend and R-enact Section 2263 of Article 26 of the Compiled Laws of North Dakota for the year 1913, Relating to Taxation for the Promotion of Diversified Farming, Manner of Discontinuing Same and Providing for the Disposition of Accumulated Funds.

Be it Enacted by the Legislative Assembly of the State of North Dakota;

- § 1. That Section 2263, Article 26 of the Compiled Laws of North Dakota for the year 1913, be amended and re-enacted to read as follows:
- § 2263. County Commissioners Levy Tax on Petition; Man-NER OF DISCONTINUING SAME; DISPOSITION OF ACCUMULATED FUNDS. The Board of County Commissioners for any county in this state may in its discretion or upon petition of twenty-five per cent of the tax payers of said county, shall, annually make an appropriation and levy a tax upon all the taxable property of the county for the purpose of promoting diversified farming and agricultural development through the employment, in co-operation with the Agricultural Extension Department of the Agricultural College and United States Department of Agriculture, of a person or persons to carry on Agricultural Extension work within said county. The amount of tax levied shall not exceed one-half mill upon the dollar of assessed valuation; provided that upon the petition of not less than ten per cent of the electors of any county which has made an appropriation and levied a tax in accordance with Section 2263, the Board of County Commissioners shall at the next general election submit to the people of that county the question as to whether or not the said work and tax levy set forth in Section 2263 shall be continued in the following manner:

For support of	co-operative	Agricultural	Extension	Work	<u> </u>
Against suppor	t of Co-opera	tivo Amigulti	ıral Evtane	ion Work	

If a majority of the votes upon the said proposition shall be cast against such co-operative agricultural extension work then such tax shall be discontinued by the Board of County Commissioners in the county on January 1st following said election; provided further, that any funds raised under the provisions of Section 2263 of the Compiled Laws of North Dakota for 1913 remaining unexpended in the treasury of any county in this state at the time of taking effect of this act may be by the Board of County Commissioners of such county, covered into and added to whatever fund the Board may deem most expedient.

Approved, March 9, 1917.

## APPORTIONMENT

#### CHAPTER 2.

[S. B. No. 192—Committee on Apportionment.]

#### LEGISLATIVE APPORTIONMENT.

An Act to Amend and Re-enact Section 44 of the Compiled Laws of North Dakota for the year 1913, as Amended by Chapter 4 of the Session Laws of North Dakota for the year 1915, Relating to Legislative Apportionment.

Be it Enacted by the Legislative Assembly of the State of North Dakota;

- 1. AMENDMENT.] That Section 44 of the Compiled Laws of North Dakota for the year 1915 is hereby amended and reenacted so as to read as follows:
- § 44. STATE LEGISLATIVE APPORTIONMENT.] The senatorial and representative districts of the state shall be formed, and the senators and representatives be apportioned as follows:

(1) The first legislative district shall consist of the county of Pembina, and be entitled to one senator and three representatives.

- (2) The second district shall consist of the city of Kenmare and that portion of Ward County situated and being in township 154, 155 and 156 of ranges 85, 86 and 87; township 157 of ranges 84, 85, 86 and 87; township 158 of range 87; township 159 and 160 of ranges 87, 88 and 89; and township 161 of range 88, and shall be entitled to one senator and one representative.
- (3) The third district shall consist of the townships of Perth, Latone, Adams, Silvesta, Cleveland, Norton, Vesta, Tiber, Medford, Vernon, Golden, Lampton, Eden, Rushford, Kensington, Dundee, Opps, Prairie Center, Fertile, city of Park River, village of Edinburg, village of Conway, village of Hoople, village of Pisek, village of Adams, Fairdale, Glenwood, Kinlose, Shepard, Sauter and Dewey, in the County of Walsh, and be entitled to one senator and two representatives.