INTEREST

CHAPTER 166.

(H. B. No. 13-James MacManus.)

INTEREST ON INDEBTEDNESS.

An Act Regulating the Rate of Interest on Indebtedness After Maturity. Be it Enacted by the Legislative Assembly of the State of North Dakota:

That the rate of interest on all indebtedness hereafter incurred shall be the same after maturity as before maturity, and any contract attempting to make the rate of interest higher after maturity shall be void as to such increase of interest.

REPEAL.) All Acts and parts of Acts insofar as they are in conflict with this Act are hereby repealed.

Approved January 23, 1919.

JUDICIAL DISTRICTS

CHAPTER 167.

(H. B. No. 124-Opland and Martin.)

JUDICIAL DISTRICTS.

An Act Providing for Judicial Districts, Judges Thereof, Their Compensation and Method of Payment, Terms of Court to be Held, Powers and Duties of Such Courts, and the Procedure Therein, and Repealing all Acts and Parts of Acts in Conflict Therewith.

Be it Enacted by the Legislative Assembly of the State of North Dakota:

Sec. 1. Judicial Districts.) The state is hereby divided into six judicial districts, composed of the following named counties, respectively; in each of said districts one or more judges shall be chosen as hereinafter provided:

District Number One shall consist of the counties of Nelson. Grand Forks, Griggs, Steele, Barnes, Traill and Cass, and shall have three judges.

District Number Two shall consist of the counties of Pembina, Walsh, Towner, Cavalier, Rolette, Pierce, Benson, Ramsey, Bottineau, Renville and McHenry, and shall have three judges.

District Number Three shall consist of the counties of Richland, Ransom, Sargent, Dickey, LaMoure, McIntosh, Logan and Emmons, and shall have two judges.

District Number Four shall consist of the counties of Stutsman, Wells, Foster, Eddy, McLean, Sheridan, Burleigh and Kidder, and shall have two judges.

District Number Five shall consist of the counties of Divide, Burke, Ward, Mountrail, Williams and McKenzie, and shall have

two judges.

District Number Six shall consist of the counties of Bowman, Adams, Hettinger, Slope, Golden Valley, Mercer, Oliver, Morton, Stark, Grant, Dunn, Billings and Sioux, and shall have

three judges.

Sec. 2. Terms Thereof. Chambers.) The terms of court to be held in each county in the several judicial districts and the location of the judges' chambers shall be fixed by order of the Supreme Court in such manner that the judges in each judicial district may have a circuit within their district and so that no judge shall hold two consecutive jury terms of court in any county in his district, except in the County of Cass; and in said county the terms of court thereof shall be held as follows. until otherwise provided by law, to-wit: terms of the District Court shall be held therein at the County Seat on the first Tuesday of each month in the year except July and August, but a jury shall only be called for the January, February, March. November and December terms unless, in the opinion of the judge, there is sufficient business to demand a jury for any other term or terms: provided, however, that the court may, if deemed advisable, continue the jury called at the January term as the jury for the February or February and March terms, and the jury called at the November term as the jury for the December term.

Sec. 3. METHOD OF ELECTION AND TERM OF OFFICE.) There shall be elected in each of said judicial districts as hereinbefore provided, a judge or judges of the District Court, whose term of office shall be four years from the first Monday in January next succeeding his election, and until his successor is elected

and qualified.

Sec. 4. Present Judges Retained.) This Act shall not work the removal of any district judge from his office during the term for which he has already been elected or appointed, but each of said district judges now elected or appointed and holding office, shall exercise and possess the powers conferred by law upon them within the respective districts herein named, in which said judges are respectively now residents, with all the powers and authority in the respective judicial districts herein named which each of said respective judges possessed in their respective districts heretofore provided by law.

Sec. 5. Several Judges.) In districts having more than one judge, the one longest in continued service, or, if two or more be equal in such service, the one senior in age, shall be the presiding judge thereof. The business of the court may be divided between the judges and otherwise regulated as the Supreme Court

by order shall direct. Each of such judges may try court or jury cases separately during the same term and at the same time.

Sec. 6. Uniform Rules of Procedure.) The Supreme Court shall, in the exercise of its supervisory control over district courts, adopt uniform rules of procedure for all of the district courts in each of the several judicial districts within the state.

Sec. 7. Change of Venue.) Change of venue may be taken from one judge to another in the same district, or in another district, or from one county to another, or from one district to another, as is now or may hereafter be provided for by law.

Sec. 8. Appointment of Judges.) The Governor of the State of North Dakota shall, within thirty days after this law goes into effect, appoint one district judge for the first judicial district; one district judge for the third judicial district; and one district judge for the sixth judicial district, each of whom shall hold his office until the next general election and until his successor is duly elected and qualified.

Sec. 9. Salaries of Judges. How Paid.) The District Judges shall each receive an annual salary of Four Thousand Dollars and his actual traveling expenses which shall include subsistence while holding court inside his own district but outside the county in which he resides, which salary and expenses shall be payable monthly in the manner now provided by law for the payment of judges' salaries.

Sec. 10. Repeal.) All Acts or parts of Acts inconsistent herewith are hereby repealed.

Approved March 3, 1919.

LABOR LAWS

CHAPTER 168. (H. B. No. 55—Malone.)

INSPECTION OF COAL MINES.

An Act to Regulate the Operation of all Coal Mines in the State of North Dakota; to Provide for Their Inspection; to Create the Office of Coal Mining Inspector; to Fix His Qualifications, Duties, Powers and Compensation; to Provide for His Appointment; to Create a Board of Examiners; to Fix its Powers and Compensation; to Provide the Method of Appointment Thereto; to Provide for the Registry, Examination, and Issuing of Certificates to Certain Employees of Coal Mines and to Provide for an Appropriation Therefor.

Be it Enacted by the Legislative Assembly of the State of North Dakota:

Sec. 1. This Act shall be known as the Coal Mining Code of the State of North Dakota.

Sec. 2. THERE IS HEREBY CREATED THE OFFICE OF STATE COAL