HOUSE MEMORIAL RESOLUTIONS

HOUSE MEMORIAL RESOLUTION No. 1 (Richard Thompson, Rosberg and Ziegler)

SENATOR EDMUND C. STUCKE

WHEREAS, the Divine Ruler of the Universe in His infinite mercy and wisdom has seen fit to call from his earthly labors our friend and fellow legislator, Dr. Edmund C. Stucke, who died on January 12, 1955, while serving his seventh consecutive term as senator from the forty-sixth district; and

WHEREAS, the memory of Dr. Stucke will long remain in our hearts and minds as an efficient and able legislator, a great humanitarian, and one who numbered as his friends all who knew him; and

WHEREAS, his many years of service in McLean county as a practicing physician, as a civic leader, and as one of its legislators have won for him a place in the hearts of all that can never be refilled; and

WHEREAS, the passing of Dr. Stucke is a great loss, not only to McLean county, but also to the state of North Dakota;

Now, Therefore, Be It Resolved By The House Of Representatives Of The State Of North Dakota:

That we express our deepest appreciation for the valuable services in so many ways rendered by our beloved and distinguished citizen, and that we express our heartfelt sympathy to his widow, relatives, and intimate friends.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that this resolution be printed in the journal of the house of representatives and that a properly engrossed copy be forwarded by the chief clerk of the house of representatives to his widow at Garrison, North Dakota.

Filed January 18, 1955.

HOUSE MEMORIAL RESOLUTION No. 2 (Nygaard)

CONDOLENCES TO REPRESENTATIVE LAWRENCE DICK

A memorial resolution extending condolences to Representative Lawrence Dick upon the death of his brother.

WHEREAS, it has come to the attention of the house of representatives that grief and sorrow have entered the family of our colleague, Representative Lawrence Dick, by reason of the recent death of his brother William; and

WHEREAS, Representative Dick is held in the highest esteem by the members of this body, who share with him the sorrow brought to him at this time;

Now, Therefore, Be It Resolved By The House Of Representatives Of The State Of North Dakota: That in this time of distress we extend our sincerest sympathies and condolences to Representative Dick and the members of his family.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that this resolution be printed in the journal and an enrolled copy be presented to our colleague, Representative Dick.

Filed January 26, 1955.

HOUSE MEMORIAL RESOLUTION No. 3 (Fristad and Knudson)

CONDOLENCES TO REPRESENTATIVE MATT M. SCHMIDT

A memorial resolution extending condolences to Representative Matt M. Schmidt upon the death of his brother.

WHEREAS, it has come to the attention of the house of representatives that grief and sorrow have entered the family of our colleague, Representative Matt M. Schmidt, by reason of the recent death of his brother, M. K. Schmidt; and

WHEREAS, Representative Schmidt is held in the highest esteem by the members of this body, who share with him the sorrow brought to him at this time;

Now, Therefore, Be It Resolved By The House Of Representatives Of The State Of North Dakota:

That in this time of distress we extend our sincerest sympathies and condolences to Representative Schmidt and the members of his family.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that this resolution be printed in the journal and an enrolled copy be presented to our colleague, Representative Schmidt.

Filed February 16, 1955.

HOUSE MEMORIAL RESOLUTION No. 4 (House Committee on Memorial Resolutions)

MEMORIALS TO DECEASED MEMBERS OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

A memorial resolution for deceased members of the House of Representatives of the state of North Dakota.

WHEREAS, since the adjournment of the thirty-third legislative assembly, God in His wisdom has seen fit to summon to eternal rest His servants and our former colleagues:

William Girchrist, who served in the twentieth, twenty-first, and twenty-third legislative assemblies, from the twenty-second legislative district, died June 12, 1954;

Edgar Kellogg, who served in the sixteenth, seventeenth and eighteenth legislative assemblies, from the fortieth legislative district, died October 10, 1954;

Frank Lindberg, who served in the twenty-ninth to the thirty-third legislative assemblies, inclusive, from the fortieth legislative district, died August 23, 1953;

Fred Graham, who served in the twenty-eighth to the thirty-first legislative assemblies, inclusive, from the twenty-fifth legislative district, died September 23, 1953;

C. J. Yirchott, who served in the twenty-ninth to the thirty-second legislative assemblies, inclusive, from the ninth legislative district, died September 2, 1953;

Leo E. Callahan, who served in the twenty-eighth, twentyninth, thirty-first and the thirty-second legislative assemblies, from the eighteenth legislative district, died March 1, 1953;

Matt Crowley, who served in the twenty-second legislative assembly from the forty-eighth legislative district, died January 13, 1955;

Robert Norheim, who served in the twelfth and thirteenth legislative assemblies, from the forty-first legislative district, died July 3, 1953;

Barney Iverson, who served in the twentieth legislative assembly, and special session of 1928, from the forty-first legislative district, died August 13, 1953;

George Schwartz, who served in the twenty-sixth to the thirty-first legislative assemblies, inclusive, from the forty-ninth legislative district, died January 1, 1955;

Thomas Gudmestad, who served in the twentieth legislative assembly, from the thirty-eighth legislative district, died September 3, 1954;

Ole Stray, who served in the twenty-fourth and twenty-fifth legislative assemblies, from the forty-fourth legislative district, died July 9, 1953;

Andrew Halvorson, who served in the twenty-sixth to the twenty-ninth legislative assemblies, inclusive, from the thirty-fourth legislative district, died July 1, 1953;

William F. Plath, who served in the twenty-first and twenty-second legislative assemblies, from the eleventh legislative district, died August 23, 1954;

William Sinclair, who served in the tenth and eleventh legislative assemblies, from the twenty-third legislative district, died April 5, 1954;

Russell R. Wright, who served in the twenty-third legislative assembly, from the twenty-third legislative district, died August 5, 1954; and

John J. Giedt, who served in the ninth legislative assembly, from the thirty-sixth legislative district, died February 16, 1954.

Whereas, today, we as members of the house of representatives of the thirty-fourth legislative assembly of the state of North Dakota, pause to mourn the passing of our former colleagues and to honor their memories, and

WHEREAS, these men rendered outstanding service to the people of this state by their contribution to their fellow men and their comunities.

Now, Therefore, Be It Resolved, By The House Of Representatives Of The Thirty-fourth Legislative Assembly Of The State Of North Dakota, that we express our keen sorrow on their passing and our appreciation, on behalf of the people of North Dakota, of the loyal and devoted service of these, our former colleagues.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that for the perpetuation of their memory, this token of respect and sympathy by their successors in trust be printed in the journal of the house and that duly enrolled copies of this resolution be presented by the secretary of state to the surviving families of these deceased representatives.

Filed March 3, 1955.