CHAPTER 871

SENATE MEMORIAL RESOLUTION NO. 1 (Senator Tallackson)

LYDIA O. JACKSON MEMORIALIZED

A memorial resolution extending sympathy and condolence to the family of Mrs. Lydia O. Jackson.

WHEREAS, God in his infinite wisdom has seen fit to summon from our midst Mrs. Lydia O. Jackson, Poet Laureate of the State of North Dakota; and

WHEREAS, Mrs. Lydia O. Jackson rendered outstanding service to the people of this state through her artistic contributions; and

WHEREAS, Mrs. Lydia O. Jackson left a living legacy through her many poems, many of which have particular significance to North Dakotans;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF NORTH DAKOTA:

That we express our deep sorrow and extend to all members of Mrs. Jackson's family our sincere sympathy and condolence in this their time of sorrow; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Secretary of State present an enrolled copy of this resolution to the family of Mrs. Lydia O. Jackson.

Filed February 11, 1985

CHAPTER 872

SENATE MEMORIAL RESOLUTION NO. 2 (Senators Kilander, Berube, Christensen) (Committee on Memorial Resolutions)

DECEASED SENATE MEMBERS MEMORIALIZED

A memorial resolution for deceased members of the Senate of the State of North Dakota.

WHEREAS, God in His wisdom has seen fit to summon to eternal rest His servants and our former colleagues:

Francis Barth, who served in the 42nd through the 48th Legislative Assemblies, from the 53rd District, died April 11, 1984.

Stella Fritzell, who served in the 43rd through the 48th Legislative Assemblies, from the 43rd District, died April 4, 1984.

Arthur Gronhovd, who served in the 42nd through the 44th Legislative Assemblies, from the 23rd District, died December 8, 1984.

Gail H. Hernett, who served in the 34th through the 42nd Legislative Assemblies, from the 30th District, died October 11, 1983.

Arthur C. Johnson, who served in the 33rd and 34th Legislative Assemblies, from the 9th District, died June 5, 1983.

Edward Leno, Sr., who served in the 29th through the 32nd Legislative Assemblies, from the 35th District, died June 1, 1984.

Richard H. Lynch, who served in the 28th through the 31st Legislative Assemblies, from the 40th District, died June 1, 1983.

Philip J. Sauer, who served in the 32nd and 33rd Legislative Assemblies, from the 38th District, died March 10, 1984.

WHEREAS, today, we, as members of the Senate of the 49th Legislative Assembly of the State of North Dakota, pause to mourn

the passing of our former colleagues, and to honor their memories; and

WHEREAS, these legislators rendered outstanding service to the people of the state by their contribution to their fellowmen and their communities;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF NORTH DAKOTA:

That we express our keen sorrow on their passing and our appreciation, on behalf of the people of North Dakota, of the loyal and devoted service of these, our former colleagues; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that for the perpetuation of their memory this token of respect and sympathy by their successors in trust be printed in the Journal of the Senate and that duly enrolled copies of this resolution be presented by the Secretary of State to the surviving families of these deceased senators.

Filed April 1, 1985