## SENATE MEMORIAL RESOLUTION

## CHAPTER 881

SENATE MEMORIAL RESOLUTION NO. 1 (Committee on Memorial Resolutions)

## DECEASED SENATE MEMBERS MEMORIALIZED

A memorial resolution for deceased members of the Senate of North Dakota.

WHEREAS, God has summoned to eternal rest our former colleagues:

JOHN E. DAVIS, who served in the 33rd and 34th Legislative Assemblies, from the 35th District, died May 12, 1990.

CLARK EWEN, who served in the 51st Legislative Assembly, from the 20th District, died September 23, 1990.

- J. GARVIN JACOBSON, who served in the 40th through the 46th Legislative Assemblies, from the 36th District, died February 22, 1990.
- R. V. "DICK" SHEA, who served in the 49th through the 51st Legislative Assemblies, from the 43rd District, died March 16, 1990.

WHEREAS, today, as members of the Senate of the 52nd Legislative Assembly of North Dakota, we pause to mourn the passing of our former colleagues and to honor their memories; and

WHEREAS, these legislators rendered outstanding service to the people of the state by their contributions to public service;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF NORTH DAKOTA:

That we express our sorrow on their passing and our appreciation, on behalf of the people of North Dakota, of the loyal and devoted service of our former colleagues; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that for the perpetuation of their memory this token of respect and sympathy by their successors in trust be printed in the Journal of the Senate and that enrolled copies of this resolution be presented by the Secretary of State to the surviving families of these deceased Senators.

Filed March 28, 1991