NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Minutes

of the

LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Friday, April 11, 1997 Prairie Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota Legislative Council Page 2 April 11, 1997

Senator Gary J. Nelson, Chairman, called the meeting to order at 3:40 p.m.

Members present: Senators Gary J. Nelson, Layton Freborg, Karen KKrebsbach, Tim Mathern, Larry J. Robinson, Wayne Stenehjem, Jim Yockim Representatives Wesley R. Belter, Merle Boucher, John Dorso, Eliot Glassheim, Pam Gulleson, Bill Oban, Mike Timm

Member absent: Representative Francis J. Wald

Others present: Pat Condon,
Forum, Bismarck
Peter Smolowitz, Associated Press,
Bismarck
Jay E. Buringrud, Chester E. Nelson,
Jr., Jim Smith, Jeffrey N. Nelson;
Legislative Council, Bismarck

Senator Gary J. Nelson, Chairman, announced that nominations for chairman of the Legislative Council were open. Representative Dorso nominated Senator Nelson. Representative Boucher nominated Senator Mathern.

Senator Mathern said he appreciated the nomination, and he would accept if elected. He said he had no problem working with both parties, and he would work to make sure the interim study process worked better with session work and to make sure communications patterns fit the expanded role of the Legislative Assembly. He also said he would work to improve the technology to make

sure it is the best possible for members of the Legislative Assembly.

IT WAS MOVED BY SENATOR STENEHJEM, SECONDED BY REPRESENTATIVE BELTER, AND CARRIED THAT NOMINATIONS CEASE.

Chairman Nelson called for a roll call vote, and voting for Senator Nelson were Senators Nelson, Freborg, Krebsbach, and Stenehjem and Representatives Belter, Dorso, and Timm. Voting for Senator Mathern were Senators Mathern, Robinson, and Yockim and Representatives Boucher, Glassheim, Gulleson, and Oban. The chairman announced that the vote was a tie. Senator Stenehjem said the Council would have to wait until the full membership was in attendance, and the current chairman would serve until his successor was elected.

IT WAS MOVED BY SENATOR
MATHERN, SECONDED BY
REPRESENTATIVE OBAN, AND
CARRIED THAT A UNANIMOUS
BALLOT BE CAST FOR SENATOR
NELSON FOR CHAIRMAN OF THE
LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL. Senator
Nelson was elected chairman.

Chairman Nelson announced that nominations for vice chairman of the Legislative Council were open.
Representative Timm nominated Representative Dorso.

IT WAS MOVED BY SENATOR FREBORG, SECONDED BY REPRESENTATIVE BELTER, AND CARRIED THAT NOMINATIONS Legislative Council Page 3 April 11, 1997

CEASE AND THAT A UNANIMOUS BALLOT BE CAST FOR REPRESENTATIVE DORSO FOR VICE CHAIRMAN OF THE LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL. Representative Dorso was elected vice chairman.

Senator Nelson said as chairman he would try to continue to move the legislative branch forward. He said two meetings of the Legislative Council would be needed within the next few weeks, the first to prioritize study resolutions and the second to approve a committee structure.

The Council discussed various dates for future meetings in April and May. Chairman Nelson announced that the Legislative Council would meet on Monday, May 5, to prioritize studies and would schedule a meeting later in May to approve an interim committee structure. Chairman Nelson adjourned the meeting at 4:00 p.m.

John D. Olsrud

Director