## Fifty-fifth Legislative Assembly, State of North Dakota, begun in the Capitol in the City of Bismarck, on Monday, the sixth day of January, one thousand nine hundred and ninety-seven

## SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 4017 (Senators Naaden, O'Connell, B. Stenehjem)

A concurrent resolution directing the Legislative Council to study legislative employee compensation.

**WHEREAS**, Legislative Assembly employees function in an extremely demanding work environment and carry out their duties with great dispatch, ability, and efficiency; and

**WHEREAS**, attracting and retaining high quality employees is critical to the continued ability of the Legislative Assembly to conduct its deliberations within the limited time available; and

WHEREAS, while all legislative employee positions require good interpersonal and communication skills, various positions involve different degrees of ability, experience, and technical knowledge which necessitate differences in compensation; and

WHEREAS, Legislative Assembly employee compensation was last studied during the 1993-94 interim, with resulting adjustments to reflect varying levels of knowledge, technical skills, and supervisory skills; and

WHEREAS, assuring adequate compensation to legislative employees is of primary importance to attracting and retaining the talented and dedicated employees necessary for the Legislative Assembly to conduct its deliberations in an appropriate atmosphere;

## NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF NORTH DAKOTA, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN:

That the Legislative Council study legislative employee compensation; and

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED**, that the Legislative Council report its findings and recommendations, together with any legislation required to implement the recommendations, to the Fifty-sixth Legislative Assembly.

President of the Senate

Speaker of the House

Secretary of the Senate

Chief Clerk of the House

Filed in this office this \_\_\_\_\_\_ day of \_\_\_\_\_\_, 1997,

at \_\_\_\_\_ o'clock \_\_\_\_\_ M.

Secretary of State