Fifty-fifth Legislative Assembly of North Dakota

HOUSE MEMORIAL RESOLUTION NO. 7001

Introduced by

24

District 4, died February 3, 1997;

Memorial Resolutions Committee

1 A memorial resolution for deceased members of the House of Representatives of North Dakota. 2 **WHEREAS**, God has summoned to eternal rest our former colleagues: 3 Anson J. Anderson, who served in the 31st through the 33rd Legislative Assemblies, 4 from District 14, died March 10, 1996; 5 L. E. Berger, who served in the 44th and 45th Legislative Assemblies, from District 21, 6 and in the 46th and 47th Legislative Assemblies, from District 13, died January 2, 1997; 7 L. D. "Lee" Christensen, who served in the 37th through the 39th Legislative 8 Assemblies, from District 2, died November 9, 1996; 9 Vernon G. Dagman, who served in the 37th and 38th Legislative Assemblies, from 10 District 14, died February 18, 1992; 11 Lawrence Dick, who served in the 34th through the 39th Legislative Assemblies, from 12 District 14, and in the 40th through the 47th Legislative Assemblies, from District 27, died 13 August 15, 1996; 14 Howard F. Doherty, who served in the 35th and 36th Legislative Assemblies, from 15 District 48, died November 8, 1996; 16 Eldred N. Dornacker, who served in the 38th and 39th Legislative Assemblies, from 17 District 8, and in the 40th through the 43rd Legislative Assemblies, from District 20, died 18 March 3, 1995; 19 LeRoy Erickson, who served in the 40th and the 43rd through the 46th Legislative 20 Assemblies, from District 26, died January 14, 1997; 21 Leonell "Lee" W. Fraase, who served in the 37th Legislative Assembly, from District 45, 22 died May 12, 1996; 23 Robert E. Grant, who served in the 41st and 42nd Legislative Assemblies, from

- 1 Edward "Ed" Gudajtes, who served in the 39th Legislative Assembly, from District 4,
- 2 died January 22, 1997;
- 3 Andrew "Andy" Hagle, who served in the 53rd and 54th Legislative Assemblies, from
- 4 District 23, died March 19, 1996;
- Walter "Walt" Hjelle, who served in the 36th Legislative Assembly, from District 46, and
- 6 in the 48th Legislative Assembly, from District 49, died July 4, 1996;
- 7 Peter "Pete" Hornstein, who served in the 35th through the 37th Legislative Assemblies,
- 8 from District 42, died April 14, 1996;
- 9 Vernon M. Johnson, who served in the 27th through the 30th Legislative Assemblies,
- 10 from District 12, died June 12, 1996;
- H. Kent Jones, who served in the 40th and 41st Legislative Assemblies, from District 15,
- 12 died December 17, 1995;
- Marjorie Kermott, who served in the 43rd through the 46th Legislative Assemblies, from
- 14 District 5, died January 17, 1997;
- 15 Kevin Kolbo, who served in the 50th through the 52nd Legislative Assemblies, from
- 16 District 3, died July 3, 1996;
- Harold Langseth, who served in the 32nd Legislative Assembly, from District 37, died
- 18 August 15, 1996;
- 19 Ernest C. Livingston, who served in the 32nd Legislative Assembly, from District 29,
- 20 died July 26, 1995;
- 21 Clarence Martin, who served in the 44th through the 52nd Legislative Assemblies, from
- 22 District 38, and in the 53rd through the 55th Legislative Assemblies, from District 36, died
- 23 February 9, 1997;
- John McGauvran, who served in the 42nd through the 45th Legislative Assemblies, from
- 25 District 10, died May 18, 1995;
- 26 Raymond J. McLain, who served in the 33rd and 34th Legislative Assemblies, from
- 27 District 43, died March 10, 1996;
- 28 Catherine "Kit" Scherber, who served in the 50th through the 52nd Legislative
- 29 Assemblies, from District 44, died November 12, 1995;
- 30 Fred T. Schmidt, who served in the 26th and 27th Legislative Assemblies, from
- 31 District 34, died June 15, 1996;

1	Harry Semerad, who served in the 25th through the 27th Legislative Assemblies and in
2	the 30th Legislative Assembly, from District 48, died April 21, 1995;
3	E. Odin Sjaastad, who served in the 35th through the 37th Legislative Assemblies, from
4	District 44, died May 24, 1996;
5	William "Bill" C. Skjerven, who served in the 49th through the 52nd Legislative
6	Assemblies, from District 16, died October 12, 1996;
7	Oscar Solberg, who served in the 31st through the 34th and in the 36th through the 39th
8	Legislative Assemblies, from District 19, and in the 40th through the 49th Legislative
9	Assemblies, from District 9, died November 20, 1996;
10	Albert L. Ulvedal, who served in the 42nd Legislative Assembly, from District 18, died
11	July 10, 1995;
12	George Unruh, who served in the 39th Legislative Assembly, from District 7, and in the
13	40th Legislative Assembly, from District 18, died January 4, 1997;
14	Gilman Wastvedt, who served in the 37th through the 39th Legislative Assemblies, from
15	District 8, died November 28, 1996; and
16	WHEREAS, we now pause to mourn the passing of our former House colleagues and to
17	honor their memories; and
18	WHEREAS, these legislators rendered outstanding service to the people of the state by
19	their contributions to public service;
20	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES
21	OF NORTH DAKOTA:
22	That we express our sorrow on their passing and our appreciation, on behalf of the
23	people of North Dakota, of the loyal and devoted service of our former colleagues; and
24	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that for the perpetuation of their memory this token of
25	respect and sympathy by their successors in trust be printed in the Journal of the House of
26	Representatives and that the Secretary of State present enrolled copies of this resolution to the
27	surviving families of these deceased representatives.