## Fifty-sixth Legislative Assembly, State of North Dakota, begun in the Capitol in the City of Bismarck, on Tuesday, the fifth day of January, one thousand nine hundred and ninety-nine

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 3010 (Representatives Hanson, Fairfield, Kroeber, Pollert) (Senators Nething, Wanzek)

A concurrent resolution urging the Citizens Stamp Advisory Committee to approve for release a stamp honoring Louis L'Amour.

WHEREAS, Louis L'Amour was born in Jamestown, North Dakota, March 22, 1908; and

**WHEREAS**, prior to his death in 1988, Louis L'Amour published more than 400 short stories and 100 novels, wrote 65 television scripts, and sold over 45 stories to the motion picture industry, including "Hondo" starring John Wayne; and

WHEREAS, the public has purchased over 260 million Louis L'Amour books making him the fastest selling novelist in America; and

WHEREAS, Louis L'Amour was awarded North Dakota's Theodore Roosevelt Rough Rider Award, the highest recognition a present or former North Dakotan may receive from the State, for achieving national recognition for a genuine achievement of lasting significance which reflects credit and honor upon North Dakota and its citizens;

## NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF NORTH DAKOTA, THE SENATE CONCURRING THEREIN:

That the Fifty-sixth Legislative Assembly urges the Citizens Stamp Advisory Committee to approve for release a stamp honoring Louis L'Amour; and

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED**, that the Secretary of State forward a copy of this resolution to each member of the Citizens Stamp Advisory Committee and to each member of the North Dakota Congressional Delegation.

## H. C. R. No. 3010 - Page 2

| Speaker of the House             | President of the Senate |
|----------------------------------|-------------------------|
| Chief Clerk of the House         | Secretary of the Senate |
| Filed in this office this day of | , 1999                  |
| at o'clock M.                    |                         |
|                                  | Secretary of State      |