Fifty-sixth Legislative Assembly, State of North Dakota, begun in the Capitol in the City of Bismarck, on Tuesday, the fifth day of January, one thousand nine hundred and ninety-nine

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 4018 (Senators Kroeplin, Krauter, T. Mathern) (Representatives Grumbo, Kerzman, Lemieux)

A concurrent resolution urging Congress to address concentration and consolidation in the meat and grain industries so farmers and ranchers can compete fairly and profitably.

WHEREAS, the three largest meat packers, IBP, Cargill's Excel Corporation, and Con Agra's Monfort, control almost 80 percent of the cattle slaughter market; and

WHEREAS, the pending merger of Cargill and Continental Grain company would result in a single entity controlling over 40 percent of all United States corn exports, 33 percent of all soybean exports, and at least 20 percent of all wheat exports; and

WHEREAS, the owners of numerous small to medium size farms and ranches are being driven out of business by anticompetitive forces that control the markets and restrict farm income; and

WHEREAS, concentration and consolidation in the meat and grain industries drives out competition in smaller local markets and has far-reaching economic implications for consumers as well as agricultural producers;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF NORTH DAKOTA, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN:

That the Fifty-sixth Legislative Assembly urges the Congress of the United States to address concentration and consolidation in the meat and grain industries so farmers and ranchers can compete fairly and profitably; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Secretary of State forward copies of this resolution to the chairman of the Senate Agriculture Committee, the chairman of the House Agriculture Committee, and to each member of the North Dakota Congressional Delegation.

 President of the Senate
 Speaker of the House

 Secretary of the Senate
 Chief Clerk of the House

 Filed in this office this ______ day of ______, 1999, at ______ o'clock _____ M.

Secretary of State