Fifty-sixth Legislative Assembly of North Dakota

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 4021

Introduced by

Senators Krauter, Bercier, Kelsh, Kinnoin, T. Mathern

Representative Fairfield

1 A concurrent resolution urging Congress to renegotiate the North American Free Trade

2 Agreement and address tariff equalization, increased market access, sanitary and phytosanitary

3 disputes, and methods to facilitate and shorten dispute resolution procedures.

4 **WHEREAS**, the North American Free Trade Agreement created the world's largest free 5 trade zone with 360 million consumers; and

6 **WHEREAS**, when the North American Free Trade Agreement was to be enacted, our

7 farmers and ranchers were promised a new golden age of expanding trade opportunities, vast

8 new markets for their products and capital and investment in their communities, protection from

9 any potentially adverse effects that might be generated by the North American Free Trade

10 Agreement through safeguard tariff provisions, and provisional relief from dumping actions

11 through adjudication from the International Trade Commission; and

12 WHEREAS, safeguard tariff provisions have not stopped the flood of Canadian and

13 Mexican agricultural products into the United States markets, and the International Trade

14 Commission has failed to conduct the monitoring of trade conditions as it had been directed to

15 do by the North American Free Trade Agreement;

16 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF NORTH DAKOTA, THE
17 HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN:

18 That the Fifty-sixth Legislative Assembly urges the Congress of the United States to

19 renegotiate the North American Free Trade Agreement and address tariff equalization,

20 increased market access, sanitary and phytosanitary disputes, methods to facilitate and shorten

21 dispute resolution procedures; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Secretary of State forward copies of this
resolution to the chairman of the Senate Agriculture Committee, the chairman of the House
Agriculture Committee, and to each member of the North Dakota Congressional Delegation.