Fifty-sixth Legislative Assembly of North Dakota

## SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 4053

Introduced by

Senators T. Mathern, G. Nelson

Representatives Boucher, Dorso

(Approved by the Delayed Bills Committee)

1 A concurrent resolution urging Congress to act quickly to fulfill its obligation under the Internet

2 Tax Freedom Act with regard to balanced membership of the Advisory Commission on

3 Electronic Commerce.

WHEREAS, the Internet Tax Freedom Act was signed into law on October 21, 1998,
and provided for establishment of the Advisory Commission on Electronic Commerce, to
include 16 members appointed by Congressional leadership, eight of whom are to represent
state and local governments and eight of whom are to represent industry and consumer groups;
and

WHEREAS, appointments to the Advisory Commission on Electronic Commerce were
 made by Congressional leaders without consultations among themselves and resulted in an
 imbalance in the membership of the Advisory Commission on Electronic Commerce, with fewer
 than eight members representing state and local governments, which does not comply with the
 Internet Tax Freedom Act; and

WHEREAS, the failure of Congress to comply with its own legislation and appoint a
balanced commission must be corrected as soon as possible because the Advisory

16 Commission on Electronic Commerce has a limited time to complete its work and much of that

17 time has already been lost;

18 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF NORTH DAKOTA, THE
 19 HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN:

That the Fifty-sixth Legislative Assembly urges the Congress of the United States to act
 quickly to fulfill its obligation under the Internet Tax Freedom Act with regard to balanced
 membership of the Advisory Commission on Electronic Commerce; and
 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Secretary of State forward copies of this

24 resolution to the Majority and Minority Leaders of the United States Senate, the Speaker of the

Fifty-sixth Legislative Assembly

- 1 United States House of Representatives, the Minority Leader of the United States House of
- 2 Representatives, and to each member of the North Dakota Congressional Delegation.