Fifty-sixth Legislative Assembly, State of North Dakota, begun in the Capitol in the City of Bismarck, on Tuesday, the fifth day of January, one thousand nine hundred and ninety-nine

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 4055 (Senator Christmann) (Approved by the Delayed Bills Committee)

A concurrent resolution urging Congress to provide for this state's concealed weapons permit to create an exemption from the national instant criminal background check system.

WHEREAS, 18 United States Code Section 922(t)(3) provides for an exemption from the national instant criminal background check system for the purchase of firearms by individuals with a concealed weapons permit; and

WHEREAS, this state has a concealed weapons permit that has been interpreted to not provide an exemption; and

WHEREAS, this state permanently prohibits a person confined or committed to a hospital or other institution and a mentally deficient person from receiving a permit, prohibits a person under 18 years of age from receiving a permit, prohibits a person who has committed a felony involving violence or intimidation from receiving a permit for 10 years, and prohibits any person who has committed a felony not involving violence or intimidation or a class A misdemeanor involving violence or intimidation from receiving a permit for five years;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF NORTH DAKOTA, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN:

That the Fifty-sixth Legislative Assembly urges the Congress of the United States to provide for this state's concealed weapons permit to create an exemption from the national instant criminal background check system; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Secretary of State forward copies of this resolution to the director of the Federal Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms and to each member of the North Dakota Congressional Delegation.

President of the Senate

Speaker of the House

Secretary of the Senate

Chief Clerk of the House

Filed in this office this ______ day of ______, 1999,

at _____ o'clock _____ M.

Secretary of State