Fifty-sixth

Legislative Assembly of North Dakota HOUSE MEMORIAL RESOLUTION NO. 7001

Introduced by

Memorial Resolutions Committee

1	A memorial resolution for deceased members of the House of Representatives of North Dakota.
2	WHEREAS, God has summoned to eternal rest our former colleagues:
3	Arlo Beggs, who served in the 24th and 25th Legislative Assemblies, from District 46,
4	died December 30, 1998;
5	James A. Berg, who served in the 53rd Legislative Assembly, from District 44, died
6	September 20, 1997;
7	Lloyd Bjella, who served in the 34th Legislative Assembly, from District 45, died
8	October 24, 1998;
9	Arne S. Boyum, who served in the 40th through the 42nd Legislative Assemblies, from
10	District 13, died March 23, 1998;
11	Ralph Dewing, who served in the 31st Legislative Assembly, from District 40, died
12	January 27, 1999;
13	Orin L. Dunlop, who served in the 33rd and 34th Legislative Assemblies, from
14	District 19, died September 16, 1998;
15	Leonard Fagerholt, who served in the 44th Legislative Assembly, from District 16, died
16	April 12, 1998;
17	Theodore Hardmeyer, who served in the 39th Legislative Assembly, from District 49,
18	died May 5, 1998;
19	Brynhild Haugland, who served in the 26th through the 39th Legislative Assemblies,
20	from District 29, in the 40th through the 44th Legislative Assemblies, from District 5, and in the
21	45th through the 51st Legislative Assemblies, from District 40-50, died August 9, 1998;
22	Ralph Hickle, who served in the 39th Legislative Assembly, from District 48, and in the
23	40th through the 46th Legislative Assemblies, from District 33, died February 24, 1998;
24	Clayton A. Lodoen, who served in the 43rd Legislative Assembly, from District 21, died
25	May 8, 1998;

Fifty-sixth Legislative Assembly

1	Dean Miller, who served in the 37th Legislative Assembly, from District 3, died July 15,
2	1997;
3	Norbert Muggli, who served in the 35th and 36th Legislative Assemblies, from
4	District 31, died April 7, 1997;
5	Jack Murphy, who served in the 42nd through the 51st Legislative Assemblies, from
6	District 36, died March 11, 1997;
7	John NeuKircher, who served in the 33rd and in the 35th through the 38th Legislative
8	Assemblies, from District 23, died March 25, 1998;
9	Bill Oban, who served in the 49th through the 55th Legislative Assemblies, from
10	District 32, died July 10, 1998;
11	Leslie C. Powers, who served in the 39th Legislative Assembly, from District 15, and in
12	the 40th and 41st Legislative Assemblies, from District 24, died November 24, 1998;
13	F. Bruce Walker, who served in the 54th Legislative Assembly, from District 5, died
14	December 3, 1998;
15	Joe Welder, who served in the 38th and 39th Legislative Assemblies, from District 36, in
16	the 40th through the 42nd Legislative Assemblies, from District 30, and in the 43rd Legislative
17	Assembly, from District 28, died April 4, 1997; and
18	WHEREAS, we now pause to mourn the passing of our former House colleagues and to
19	honor their memories; and
20	WHEREAS, these legislators rendered outstanding service to the people of the state by
21	their contributions to public service;
22	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES
23	OF NORTH DAKOTA:
24	That we express our sorrow on their passing and our appreciation, on behalf of the
25	people of North Dakota, of the loyal and devoted service of our former colleagues; and
26	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that for the perpetuation of their memory this token of
27	respect and sympathy by their successors in trust be printed in the Journal of the House of
28	Representatives and that the Secretary of State present enrolled copies of this resolution to the
29	surviving families of these deceased representatives.