Fifty-seventh Legislative Assembly of North Dakota

## SENATE BILL NO. 2055

Introduced by

3

Senators Solberg, Holmberg, Watne

Representatives Eckre, Kliniske, Pietsch

- 1 A BILL for an Act to amend and reenact section 54-24.4-01 of the North Dakota Century Code,
- 2 relating to the composition of the North Dakota library coordinating council.

## BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF NORTH DAKOTA:

- SECTION 1. AMENDMENT. Section 54-24.4-01 of the 1999 Supplement to the North
  Dakota Century Code is amended and reenacted as follows:
- 6 **54-24.4-01. North Dakota library coordinating council Members Term.** The
- 7 North Dakota library coordinating council consists of ten eleven members. The president of the
- 8 North Dakota library association is an ex officio, voting member of the council. The state
- 9 librarian is an ex officio nonvoting member of the council. The governor shall appoint eight nine
- 10 members to the council, one of whom must represent special libraries, one of whom must
- 11 represent public higher education institution libraries, one of whom must represent private
- 12 higher education institution libraries, one of whom must represent school libraries, two of whom
- 13 must represent public libraries, one of whom must represent disabled, economically
- 14 disadvantaged, and minority populations, and one citizen two citizens at large. The governor
- 15 shall take into account reasonable geographic considerations when appointing members of the
- 16 council. The term of each member is three years. Of the initial council, three members must
- 17 be appointed by the governor for a three year term, three members must be appointed by the
- 18 governor for a two-year term, and two members must be appointed by the governor for a
- 19 one-year term. If at any time during a member's term, the member ceases to possess the
- 20 qualifications required by this section, the member's office is deemed vacant and the governor
- 21 shall appoint a qualified representative to complete the term of office. No member may be
- 22 appointed to serve more than two consecutive three-year terms.