Fifty-seventh Legislative Assembly of North Dakota

HOUSE BILL NO. 1258

Introduced by

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

Representatives Monson, Kerzman, Nelson, Nicholas Senators Krauter, Wanzek

- 1 A BILL for an Act to create and enact a new section to chapter 4-10.2 of the North Dakota
- 2 Century Code, relating to canola districts; and to amend and reenact section 4-10.2-03 of the
- 3 North Dakota Century Code, relating to membership of the oilseed council.

4 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF NORTH DAKOTA:

- 5 **SECTION 1. AMENDMENT.** Section 4-10.2-03 of the 1999 Supplement to the North Dakota Century Code is amended and reenacted as follows:
- 7 4-10.2-03. North Dakota oilseed council Membership Election Term.
- 8 1. The North Dakota oilseed council is composed of ene:
 - <u>a.</u> One participating sunflower grower elected from each of the districts established in section 4-10.2-04, one;
 - <u>b.</u> One participating canola grower elected from each of the districts established
 in section 2 of this Act;
 - c. One participating safflower grower appointed by the governor, one;
 - <u>One</u> participating crambe grower appointed by the governor, one participating
 rapeseed or canola grower appointed by the governor, one;
 - <u>e.</u> One participating flax grower appointed by the governor; and one
 - <u>f.</u> <u>One</u> member appointed by the director of the agricultural experiment station.
 - <u>2.</u> The chairman of the council must be a member of the council elected by a majority vote of the council. The commissioner is an ex officio member of the council.
 - 3. a. Every elected and appointed council member must be a citizen of the state.
 - <u>b.</u> Every <u>The</u> elected member <u>who is a sunflower grower</u> must be a bona fide resident of and participating sunflower grower in the district the member represents.

1 The elected member who is a canola grower must be a bona fide resident of C. 2 and participating canola grower in the district the member represents. 3 4. a. The term of each elected member who is a sunflower grower is three years 4 and begins on April first of the year of election, except that initially two 5 members must be elected for a three-year term; two members must be 6 elected for a two-year term; and two members must be elected for a one-year 7 term as designated by the commissioner. 8 The term of each elected member who is a canola grower is three years and b. 9 begins on April first of the year of election, except that initially one member 10 must be elected for a three-year term; one member must be elected for a 11 two-year term; and one member must be elected for a one-year term as 12 designated by the commissioner. 13 The term of the representative for elected member who is a sunflower grower <u>C.</u> 14 from district seven must coincide with the term of the representative for 15 elected member who is a sunflower grower from district six. 16 The term of each appointed member is three years and begins on April first of d. 17 the year of the appointment, except that initially. Initially, the flax grower term 18 of the member who is a flax grower must be appointed for a three-year term 19 three years, the term of the member designated appointed by the director of 20 the agricultural experiment station must be for two years, and the term of the 21 member who is a safflower grower member must be appointed for a two year 22 term, and the rapeseed or canola grower must be appointed for a one-year 23 term two years. 24 5. If at any time during a member's term the member ceases to possess any of the 25 qualifications provided for in this chapter, the member's office is deemed vacant 26 and the remaining members of the council shall appoint another qualified 27 participating grower for the remainder of the vacated term of the office vacated. 28 The commissioner, or a county agent designated by the commissioner, in <u>6.</u> 29 cooperation with the North Dakota state university extension service, shall conduct 30 all elections under this section in each district in the manner the commissioner

Fifty-seventh Legislative Assembly

1		deems determines fair and reasonable. All elections must be conducted before
2		April first of each year.
3	<u>7.</u>	No elected or appointed member of the council is eligible to serve more than three
4		four consecutive three-year terms.
5	SEC	CTION 2. A new section to chapter 4-10.2 of the North Dakota Century Code is
6	created and enacted as follows:	
7	<u>Car</u>	nola districts. The following canola districts are established:
8	<u>1.</u>	District one consists of the counties of Golden Valley, Billings, Stark, Morton,
9		Slope, Hettinger, Grant, Bowman, Adams, Sioux, Dunn, McKenzie, Mercer, Oliver,
10		Divide, Burke, Williams, Mountrail, Renville, Ward, and McLean.
11	<u>2.</u>	District two consists of the counties of Bottineau, Rolette, Pierce, Sheridan, Wells,
12		Eddy, Foster, Burleigh, Kidder, Benson, Stutsman, McIntosh, Emmons, Logan,
13		McHenry, LaMoure, and Dickey.
14	<u>3.</u>	District three consists of the counties of Cavalier, Pembina, Ramsey, Towner,
15		Walsh, Nelson, Grand Forks, Griggs, Steele, Traill, Barnes, Cass, Ransom,
16		Richland, and Sargent.