## Fifty-seventh Legislative Assembly of North Dakota In Regular Session Commencing Tuesday, January 9, 2001

## HOUSE MEMORIAL RESOLUTION NO. 7001 (Memorial Resolutions Committee)

A memorial resolution for deceased members of the House of Representatives of North Dakota.

WHEREAS, God has summoned to eternal rest our former colleagues:

Herbert Anderson, who served in the 42nd and 44th Legislative Assemblies, from District 20, died July 15, 2000;

Richard J. Backes, who served in the 37th through the 39th Legislative Assemblies, from District 43, and in the 40th through the 48th Legislative Assemblies, from District 3, died October 17, 2000:

Pauline M. Benedict, who served in the 45th and 46th Legislative Assemblies, from District 3, died December 21, 1999;

Harold Burau, who served in the 28th and 29th Legislative Assemblies, from District 40, died February 8, 2001;

Monty Burke, who served in the 40th and 41st Legislative Assemblies, from District 32, died October 28, 1999;

John F. Gengler, who served in the 37th and 39th Legislative Assemblies, from District 31, and in the 42nd, 43rd, and 45th Legislative Assemblies, from District 37, died February 5, 2000;

Normen Grubb, who served in the 43rd Legislative Assembly, from District 4, died March 12, 2000:

Dale L. Henegar, who served in the 52nd Legislative Assembly, from District 52, and in the 53rd through the 56th Legislative Assemblies, from District 30, died September 6, 1999;

Roy A. Holand, who served in the 30th through the 33rd Legislative Assemblies, from District 24, died November 26, 1999;

Robert Jacobsen, who served in the 46th and 47th Legislative Assemblies, from District 23, died August 11, 2000;

Irven Jacobson, who served in the 42nd through the 48th Legislative Assemblies, from District 2, died January 4, 2000;

Howard Johnson, who served in the 42nd through the 44th Legislative Assemblies, from District 17, and in the 45th Legislative Assembly, from District 16, died November 11, 2000;

Marlin T. Obie, who served in the 39th Legislative Assembly, from District 6, died July 22, 1999;

Anna Powers, who served in the 37th through the 39th Legislative Assemblies, from District 11, and in the 44th and 45th Legislative Assemblies, from District 22, died July 20, 1999;

Oscar J. Sorlie, who served in the 31st through the 37th Legislative Assemblies, from District 8, died April 14, 1999;

Grace Stone, who served in the 40th through the 43rd Legislative Assemblies, from District 18, died August 29, 2000; and

**WHEREAS**, we now pause to mourn the passing of our former House colleagues and to honor their memories; and

**WHEREAS**, these legislators rendered outstanding service to the people of the state by their contributions to public service;

## NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF NORTH DAKOTA:

That we express our sorrow on their passing and our appreciation, on behalf of the people of North Dakota, of the loyal and devoted service of our former colleagues; and

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED**, that for the perpetuation of their memory this token of respect and sympathy by their successors in trust be printed in the Journal of the House of Representatives and that the Secretary of State present enrolled copies of this resolution to the surviving families of these deceased representatives.

## H. M. R. No. 7001 - Page 3

		Speaker of the House	
		Chief Clerk of the House	
Filed in this office this	day of		, 2001,
at o'clock M.			
		Secretary of State	