Fifty-eighth Legislative Assembly of North Dakota In Regular Session Commencing Tuesday, January 7, 2003

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 4038
(Senators Kringstad, Nelson)
(Representatives Berg, Kroeber)
(Approved by the Delayed Bills Committee)

A concurrent resolution congratulating Bucky Maughan on election to the National Wrestling Hall of Fame.

WHEREAS, Bucky Maughan became head wrestling coach at North Dakota State University in 1964, after a brilliant collegiate wrestling career, including NAIA national championships in 1962 and 1963 and an NCAA Division I national championship in 1963; and

WHEREAS, Bucky Maughan, over 38 years, has coached the Thundering Herd to 34 consecutive winning seasons, 394 dual meet wins, nine consecutive conference titles, and 25 top five finishes at the NCAA Division II national championships, including third place six times, second place five times, and four NCAA Division II national championships; and

WHEREAS, Bucky Maughan has coached 30 individual NCAA Division II national champions and 168 NCAA Division II and Division I All-Americans, and instilled a tradition of excellence in the North Dakota State University wrestling program that is a tribute to his leadership and coaching excellence; and

WHEREAS, Bucky Maughan was selected as NCAA Division II wrestling coach of the year in 1982, 1988, and 1998, was elected to the NCAA Division II and NAIA wrestling Hall of Fame, and has been named as one of the top 10 college wrestling coaches of all time in a poll taken by Wrestling USA magazine;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF NORTH DAKOTA, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN:

That the Legislative Assembly expresses its pride and extends its congratulations to Bucky Maughan on election to the National Wrestling Hall of Fame; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Secretary of State forward enrolled copies of this resolution to Bucky Maughan and to the president and the athletic director of North Dakota State University.

S. C. R. No. 4038 - Page 2

President of the Senate	Speaker of the House
Secretary of the Senate	Chief Clerk of the House
Filed in this office this day of	, 2003
at o'clock M.	
	Secretary of State