Fifty-eighth Legislative Assembly of North Dakota

HOUSE BILL NO. 1209

Introduced by

Representatives Weiler, Carlisle, Ekstrom, Grosz

Senators Grindberg, Wardner

- 1 A BILL for an Act to create and enact a new chapter to title 11 of the North Dakota Century
- 2 Code, relating to the establishment and operation of multicounty districts; and to provide an
- 3 effective date.

4 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF NORTH DAKOTA:

- 5 **SECTION 1.** A new chapter to title 11 of the North Dakota Century Code is created and 6 enacted as follows:
- 7 **Multicounty districts.** Multicounty districts are created as follows:
- 8 1. Multicounty district one consists of Burke and Divide Counties.
- 9 2. Multicounty district two consists of Bottineau and Renville Counties.
- 10 3. Multicounty district three consists of McLean and Sheridan Counties.
- Multicounty district four consists of Billings and Golden Valley Counties.
- 12 5. Multicounty district five consists of Bowman and Slope Counties.
- 13 6. Multicounty district six consists of Adams and Hettinger Counties.
- 14 7. Multicounty district seven consists of Mercer and Oliver Counties.
- 15 8. Multicounty district eight consists of Grant and Sioux Counties.
- Multicounty district nine consists of McHenry and Pierce Counties.
- 17 10. Multicounty district ten consists of Benson and Ramsey Counties.
- 18 11. Multicounty district eleven consists of Eddy, Foster, and Wells Counties.
- 19 12. Multicounty district twelve consists of Kidder and Logan Counties.
- 20 13. Multicounty district thirteen consists of Emmons and McIntosh Counties.
- 21 14. Multicounty district fourteen consists of Dickey and LaMoure Counties.
- 22 15. Multicounty district fifteen consists of Ransom and Sargent Counties.
- Multicounty district sixteen consists of Steele and Traill Counties.
- 24 17. Multicounty district seventeen consists of Griggs and Nelson Counties.

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

- 1 18. Multicounty district eighteen consists of Cavalier and Towner Counties.
- 2 19. Multicounty district nineteen consists of Pembina and Walsh Counties.
- All references in this section with respect to counties included in multicounty districts refer to counties described in chapter 11-01 as of January 1, 2003.

Multicounty districts - Transfer of functions. On January 1, 2007, all functions, powers, and duties of each county that comprises a multicounty district are transferred to and vested in the multicounty districts. On January 1, 2007, all functions, powers, and duties of any county official before that date are transferred to and vested in the corresponding officials in multicounty districts. On January 1, 2007, all assets and liabilities, records, equipment, and money and property are transferred to the appropriate multicounty district.

Unless the context otherwise requires, when the term "county", or any derivative of that term or a reference used in a context indicating an intention to refer to a county officer, appears in the North Dakota Century Code, the reference must be construed to be a multicounty district or a multicounty district official with respect to the multicounty districts created under this chapter.

Selection of multicounty seat. The question of the permanent location of a multicounty district seat must be voted upon by the qualified electors of the area that will constitute the multicounty district as described in this chapter at the primary election in 2004. A multicounty district may operate and maintain a courthouse only in the city selected as the multicounty district seat.

County officers.

- 1. Unless a multicounty district adopts one of the optional forms of county government, combines the functions of county offices, or redesignates offices as appointive as provided in this title, each multicounty district must elect the following county officers:
 - a. A county auditor.
- b. A recorder.
 - c. A county treasurer.
- d. A state's attorney.
- 30 e. A sheriff.
- f. A board of county commissioners consisting of five members.

Fifty-eighth Legislative Assembly

2.	A county officer elected in 2004 in a county that will become part of a multicounty
	district on January 1, 2007, must serve for a term of two years. Thereafter, the
	term of office of an elected county officer is four years. However, for the
	commissioners first elected in 2006, the two commissioners receiving the least
	number of votes in each district shall hold office for two years.

SECTION 2. EFFECTIVE DATE. Section 1 of this Act becomes effective on January 1, 2006, except those portions of section 1 relating to the selection of a permanent multicounty district seat and the election of county officers to two-year terms in 2004, become effective on January 1, 2004.