Fifty-eighth Legislative Assembly of North Dakota

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 4003

Introduced by

Senators Stenehjem, O'Connell

Representatives Berg, Boucher

1 A concurrent resolution welcoming Chairman Tex Hall of the Three Affiliated Tribes to the North Dakota Legislative Assembly and to commend Chairman Hall and the leaders of all American 2 3 Indian people in North Dakota for their work to improve our state. 4 **WHEREAS**, members of the Fifty-eighth Legislative Assembly wish to improve North 5 Dakota's relationship and cooperation with the sovereign Indian tribes of our great state; and 6 **WHEREAS**, the Legislative Assembly has worked to promote job creation and generate 7 a more dynamic economy for American Indian people in North Dakota; and 8 WHEREAS, the Mandan, Hidatsa, and Arikara Nation, Turtle Mountain Band of 9 Chippewa, Spirit Lake Nation, Standing Rock Nation, and Sisseton-Wahpeton Sioux Tribe 10 share a common destiny with all citizens of the state of North Dakota; and 11 WHEREAS, like all leaders in service to citizens, tribal leaders have worked to improve 12 economic opportunities, education, and health care for American Indian people; and 13 WHEREAS, Chairman Hall is an enrolled member of the Mandan, Hidatsa, and Arikara 14 Nation and has been elected chairman of the Three Affiliated Tribes; and 15 WHEREAS, Chairman Hall has distinguished himself as a national leader and advocate 16 for American Indian people as President of the National Congress of American Indians; and 17 **WHEREAS**, Chairman Hall will address the members of the Fifty-eighth Legislative Assembly in a joint session on Thursday, January 9, 2003, to report on the important 18 19 relationship between the state of North Dakota and the tribal governments of North Dakota; 20 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF NORTH DAKOTA, THE 21 HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN: 22 That the Fifty-eighth Legislative Assembly welcomes Chairman Tex Hall of the Three 23 Affiliated Tribes and thanks Chairman Hall and all leaders of the American Indian people of 24 North Dakota for their work to improve our state; and

Fifty-eighth Legislative Assembly

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Secretary of State forward copies of this
resolution to the Tribal Business Council of the Mandan, Hidatsa, and Arikara Nation; to the
Tribal Council of the Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa; to the Tribal Council of the Spirit Lake
Nation; to the Tribal Council of the Standing Rock Sioux; and to the Tribal Council of the
Sisseton-Wahpeton Sioux Tribe.