Fifty-ninth Legislative Assembly of North Dakota

SENATE BILL NO.

Introduced by

Senator Heitkamp

1 A BILL for an Act to amend and reenact section 61-39-02 of the North Dakota Century Code,

2 relating to composition of the Lake Agassiz water authority.

3 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF NORTH DAKOTA:

SECTION 1. AMENDMENT. Section 61-39-02 of the North Dakota Century Code is
amended and reenacted as follows:

6 61-39-02. Lake Agassiz water authority created. The Lake Agassiz water authority 7 consists of cities and water districts located in that part of the state which is included within the 8 boundaries of Cavalier, Pembina, Walsh, Nelson, Grand Forks, Griggs, Steele, Traill, Barnes, 9 Cass, Ransom, Sargent, and Richland Counties and that pay dues to the authority. Upon 10 approval of the board of directors, a city in another state may join the authority. The authority is 11 a governmental agency, body politic and corporate with the authority to exercise the power 12 specified in this chapter, or which may be reasonably implied. Cities and water districts may 13 pay dues to the authority as determined by the authority.