## FIRST ENGROSSMENT

Fifty-ninth Legislative Assembly of North Dakota

## ENGROSSED SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 4003

Introduced by

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

Senators Syverson, Flakoll, Nelson

Representatives Bernstein, Ekstrom, Grande

1	A concurrent resolution designating, in conjunction with the state of Minnesota, the Main
2	Avenue bridge between Fargo, North Dakota, and Moorhead, Minnesota, as the Veterans
3	Memorial Bridge.
4	WHEREAS, bridges demonstrate unity of purpose and enhance the expansion of
5	commerce and communication by surmounting natural and man-made obstacles; and
6	WHEREAS, commerce and communication provide the basis for a unified and
7	purposeful region and nation for the benefit of all citizens; and
8	WHEREAS, a nation, undefended from external threats and internal disasters cannot
9	grow and prosper; and
10	WHEREAS, the members of our armed forces have distinguished themselves as true
11	patriots in the defense of our national integrity and ideals when called to duty and have willingly
12	and unselfishly provided for the defense of this nation at great personal sacrifice;
13	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF NORTH DAKOTA,
14	THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN:
15	That in recognition of the sacrifice of veterans and dedication to honor and duty in
16	defense of our nation and in recognition of their unswerving devotion to our nation and the

defense of our nation and in recognition of their unswerving devotion to our nation and the freedoms and precepts for our nation, a permanent and visible example of gratitude of the citizens of North Dakota and Minnesota for the service of these veterans is the Main Avenue bridge between Fargo, North Dakota, and Moorhead, Minnesota, and the bridge is designated as the "Veterans Memorial Bridge"; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Secretary of State forward copies of this resolution to the Governor, the director of the North Dakota Department of Transportation, the

Governor of Minnesota, the commissioner of the Minnesota Department of Transportation, the

24 mayor of Fargo, and the mayor of Moorhead.