Fifty-ninth Legislative Assembly of North Dakota

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 4028

Introduced by

24

Senators Krauter, Erbele

Representatives Kerzman, Nicholas

1 A concurrent resolution urging Congress to support mandatory country of origin labeling for all 2 agricultural commodities. 3 WHEREAS, on May 13, 2002, President Bush signed into law the Farm Security and 4 Rural Investment Act of 2002, which required country of origin labeling for beef, lamb, pork, fish, 5 perishable agricultural commodities, and peanuts; and 6 WHEREAS, on January 27, 2004, President Bush signed Public Law 108-199, which 7 delays the implementation of mandatory country of origin labeling for all covered commodities 8 except wild and farm-raised fish and shellfish, until September 30, 2006; and 9 WHEREAS, responsibility for implementation of the country of origin labeling program 10 rests with the Agricultural Marketing Service of the United States Department of Agriculture; 11 and 12 WHEREAS, since 1999 North Dakota has required retailers to indicate by label the 13 country of origin of fresh beef, lamb, and pork; and 14 WHEREAS, Florida, Kansas, Maine, South Dakota, and Wyoming all require some form 15 of mandatory country of origin labeling; and 16 WHEREAS, country of origin labeling can provide consumers with valuable information 17 about the source of their food; and 18 WHEREAS, while processors and packers have been unwilling to participate in 19 mandatory country of origin labeling, consumers have shown overwhelming support for country 20 of origin labeling, as well as the willingness to pay extra for such information; 21 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF NORTH DAKOTA, THE 22 HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN: 23 That the Fifty-ninth Legislative Assembly urges the Congress of the United States to

make country of origin labeling mandatory for all agricultural commodities; and

Fifty-ninth Legislative Assembly

- 1 **BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED**, that the Secretary of State forward copies of this
- 2 resolution to the President of the United States, the Secretary of the United States Department
- 3 of Agriculture, and each member of the North Dakota Congressional Delegation.