Fifty-ninth Legislative Assembly of North Dakota In Regular Session Commencing Tuesday, January 4, 2005

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 3011 (Representatives Monson, S. Kelsh, Nelson) (Senators Grindberg, Heitkamp)

A concurrent resolution urging the state's public research institutions of higher education to participate in a regional hydrogen and energy research and education consortium.

WHEREAS, the state's public research institutions of higher education possess important strengths in different areas that should be meshed for a strong regional presence in the national hydrogen and energy research arena; and

WHEREAS, some of this collaboration already occurs, but this collaboration often runs counter to the institutional culture of academia; and

WHEREAS, there is significant interest in the pursuit of a regional consortium to maximize institutional strengths and synergies to make this region's research and higher education institutions more competitive in attracting federal and private funds; and

WHEREAS, the formation of a regional hydrogen and energy consortium would provide many benefits for the economy of North Dakota and the well-being of its citizens;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF NORTH DAKOTA, THE SENATE CONCURRING THEREIN:

That the Fifty-ninth Legislative Assembly urges the state's public research institutions of higher education to participate in a regional hydrogen and energy research and education consortium; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Secretary of State forward copies of this resolution to the Governor, chancellor of the Board of Higher Education, the president of the University of North Dakota, the president of North Dakota State University, the director of the Energy and Environmental Research Center at the University of North Dakota, and the chairman of the School of Engineering at North Dakota State University.

H. C. R. No. 3011 - Page 2

Speaker of the House	President of the Senate
Chief Clerk of the House	Secretary of the Senate
Filed in this office this day of	, 2005
at o'clock M.	
	Secretary of State