Fifty-ninth Legislative Assembly of North Dakota In Regular Session Commencing Tuesday, January 4, 2005

HOUSE MEMORIAL RESOLUTION NO. 7001 (Memorial Resolutions Committee)

A memorial resolution for deceased members of the House of Representatives of North Dakota.

WHEREAS, God has welcomed to their eternal home our former colleagues:

Archie Borstad, who served in the 39th Legislative Assembly, from District 20, died November 23, 2003;

Linda Christenson, who served in the 54th and 55th Legislative Assemblies, from District 18, died July 28, 2004;

James O. Coats, who served in the 52nd through the 55th Legislative Assemblies, from District 34, died January 28, 2005;

Walter C. Erdman, who served in the 48th Legislative Assembly, from District 6, died September 25, 2004;

Ivan Erickson, who served in the 27th Legislative Assembly and in the 30th through the 34th Legislative Assemblies, from District 40, died February 5, 2005;

Kenneth Erickson, who served in the 41st and 42nd Legislative Assemblies, from District 26, died May 12, 2003;

Frances V. Froeschle, who served in the 39th Legislative Assembly, from District 9, died April 8, 2004;

Donald Giffey, who served in the 37th through the 39th Legislative Assemblies, from District 46, and in the 40th through the 42nd Legislative Assemblies, from District 8, died August 22, 2004;

Glen Goodman, who served in the 38th Legislative Assembly, from District 18, and in the 40th and 41st Legislative Assemblies, from District 10, died February 22, 2005;

Glenn Henning, who served in the 41st and 42nd Legislative Assemblies, from District 6, died February 26, 2003;

Thelmer Ivesdal, who served in the 39th Legislative Assembly, from District 21, died January 17, 2005;

James W. Kennelly, who served in the 46th Legislative Assembly, from District 45, died March 3, 2004;

Herman Larson, who served in the 46th and 47th Legislative Assemblies, from District 7, died February 7, 2004;

Joe B. Leibhan, who served in the 40th and 41st Legislative Assemblies, the 43rd and 44th Legislative Assemblies, and the 46th Legislative Assembly, from District 12, died February 22, 2004;

Harold T. Morrison, who served in the 27th and 28th Legislative Assemblies, from District 35, died February 15, 2004;

Corliss Mushik, who served in the 42nd Legislative Assembly and the 44th through the 48th Legislative Assemblies, from District 34, died July 4, 2004;

Fred E. Nagel, who served in the 47th Legislative Assembly, from District 33, died October 6, 2003;

Curtis Olson, who served in the 27th through the 29th Legislative Assemblies, from District 15, died October 15, 2004;

Bill Pietsch, who served in the 57th Legislative Assembly, from District 22, died July 15, 2004;

Robert F. Reimers, who served in the 37th through the 39th Legislative Assemblies, from District 23, and in the 40th through the 44th Legislative Assemblies, from District 29, died September 3, 2003;

Richard Rocheleau, who served in the 42nd Legislative Assembly, from District 12, and in the 44th and 45th Legislative Assemblies, from District 7, died February 22, 2004;

Leland Roen, who served in the 32nd through the 34th Legislative Assemblies, from District 39, died May 22, 2003;

Dale C. Severson, who served in the 56th through the 58th Legislative Assemblies, from District 23, died November 4, 2003;

Thomas R. Stallman, who served in the 36th through the 39th Legislative Assemblies, from District 37, died September 30, 2004;

Elmer Strand, who served in the 34th Legislative Assembly and in the 36th Legislative Assembly, from District 8, died July 17, 2004;

Willard Strege, who served in the 34th Legislative Assembly and in the 36th Legislative Assembly, from District 37, died July 1, 2003;

Janet Wentz, who served in the 44th Legislative Assembly, from District 5; in the 45th through the 52nd Legislative Assemblies, from District 41; and in the 53rd through the 58th Legislative Assemblies, from District 3, died September 15, 2003;

Carl A. White, who served in the 41st and 42nd Legislative Assemblies, from District 21, died January 23, 2004; and

WHEREAS, we now pause to mourn the passing of our former House colleagues and to honor their memories; and

WHEREAS, these legislators rendered outstanding service to the people of the state by their contributions to public service;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF NORTH DAKOTA:

That we express our sorrow on their passing and our appreciation, on behalf of the people of North Dakota, of the loyal and devoted service of our former colleagues; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that for the perpetuation of their memory this token of respect and sympathy by their successors in trust be printed in the Journal of the House of Representatives and that the Secretary of State present enrolled copies of this resolution to the surviving families of these deceased representatives.

Speaker of the House

Chief Clerk of the House

Filed in this office this _	day of	, 2005
-----------------------------	--------	--------

at _____ o'clock _____ M.

Secretary of State