Fifty-ninth Legislative Assembly of North Dakota

HOUSE BILL NO. 1247

Introduced by

Representatives Aarsvold, D. Johnson, Monson, Pollert

Senators Freborg, Tallackson

- 1 A BILL for an Act to amend and reenact sections 4-10.3-03 and 4-10.3-04 of the North Dakota
- 2 Century Code, relating to the dry bean council and dry bean districts; and to provide for
- 3 application.

4 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF NORTH DAKOTA:

5 **SECTION 1. AMENDMENT.** Section 4-10.3-03 of the North Dakota Century Code is 6 amended and reenacted as follows:

- 4-10.3-03. North Dakota state dry bean council Membership Election Term.
 The North Dakota dry bean council is composed of one participating grower
 elected from each of the districts established in section 4-10.3-04. The chairman
 of the council must be a member of the council elected by a majority vote of the
 council. The agriculture commissioner is an ex officio member of the council.
- 12 <u>2.</u> Every elected council member must be a citizen of the state and a bona fide
 resident of and participating grower in the district the member represents.
- 143.The term of each elected member is three years and begins on April first of the15year of election, except that initially one member must be elected for a three-year16term; two members must be elected for two-year terms; and two members must be17elected for one-year terms as designated by the commissioner.
- If at any time during a member's term the member ceases to possess any of the
 qualifications provided for in this chapter, the member's office is deemed vacant
 and the council shall, by majority vote, appoint another qualified participating
 grower for the remainder of the term of the office vacated.
- 5. The commissioner, or a county agent designated by the commissioner, in
 cooperation with the cooperative extension service, shall conduct all elections

Fifty-ninth

Legislative Assembly

1		under this section in each district in the manner the commissioner deems fair and
2		reasonable. Elections must be held before April first of each year.
3	<u>6.</u>	No elected member of the council is eligible to serve more than two three
4		consecutive three-year terms.
5	SEC	CTION 2. AMENDMENT. Section 4-10.3-04 of the North Dakota Century Code is
6	amended a	nd reenacted as follows:
7	4-10	0.3-04. Dry bean districts - Establishment. The following dry bean districts are
8	established	for the purpose of dividing the state into districts containing as nearly equal dry
9	bean acreages as practicable:	
10	1.	District one consists of the counties of Benson, Bottineau, Burke, Cavalier, Divide,
11		McHenry, Mountrail, Pembina, Pierce, Ramsey, Renville, Rolette, and Towner,
12		Walsh, Ward, and Williams Counties.
13	2.	District two consists of Grand Forks County Ramsey and Walsh Counties.
14	3.	District three consists of the counties of Barnes, Billings, Burleigh, Dunn, Eddy,
15		Foster, Golden Valley, Griggs, Kidder, McKenzie, McLean, Mercer, Nelson, Oliver,
16		Sheridan, Steele, Stutsman, and Wells Grand Forks and Nelson Counties.
17	4.	District four consists of Griggs, Steele, and Traill County Counties.
18	5.	District five consists of the counties of Adams, Bowman, Barnes, Cass, Dickey,
19		Emmons, Grant, Hettinger, Kidder, LaMoure, Logan, McIntosh, Morton, Ransom,
20		Richland, Sargent, Sioux, Slope, and Stark and Stutsman Counties.
21	<u>6.</u>	District six consists of Adams, Benson, Billings, Bottineau, Bowman, Burke,
22		Burleigh, Divide, Dunn, Eddy, Emmons, Foster, Golden Valley, Grant, Hettinger,
23		McHenry, McKenzie, McLean, Mercer, Morton, Mountrail, Oliver, Pierce, Renville,
24		Rolette, Sheridan, Sioux, Slope, Stark, Ward, Wells, and Williams Counties.
25	SECTION 3. APPLICATION. The initial term of the member representing district six	
26	must be arranged so that not more than two terms expire each year.	