Fifty-ninth Legislative Assembly of North Dakota

## SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 4023

Introduced by

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

Senators Heitkamp, Fischer, Mathern, Nelson

Representatives Delmore, Monson

- A concurrent resolution expressing the Legislative Assembly's commendation and support for
  the efforts of the Lake Agassiz Water Authority to deliver water to eastern North Dakota.
- WHEREAS, many areas and localities in eastern North Dakota do not have sufficient quantities of water to ensure a dependable, long-term supply; and
  - WHEREAS, supplementation of the water resources of eastern North Dakota with water supplies from the Missouri River or other sources of supply may be the only alternative to provide eastern North Dakota with a safe, good quality, dependable source, and adequate quantity of water; and
  - **WHEREAS**, the Red River Basin needs a dependable supply of water for the cities of Fargo and Grand Forks, smaller communities, rural water systems, industry, agricultural processing, manufacturing, and other purposes, and to protect and enhance economic stability and quality of life for the growing population of the Red River Basin; and
  - **WHEREAS**, failure to provide a dependable long-term water supply would jeopardize future economic opportunities dependent on water, including industry, agricultural processing, manufacturing, municipal growth, recreation, and fish and wildlife in the Red River Basin and thus adversely affect the entire state;

## NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF NORTH DAKOTA, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN:

That the Fifty-ninth Legislative Assembly expresses its commendation and support for the efforts of the Lake Agassiz Water Authority to deliver water to eastern North Dakota; and

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED**, that the Secretary of State forward copies of this resolution to the Governor, State Engineer, each member of the State Water Commission, each member of the board of directors of the Lake Agassiz Water Authority, and each member of the North Dakota Congressional Delegation.