PROPOSED AMENDMENTS TO HOUSE BILL NO. 1524

Page 1, line 1, after "A BILL" replace the remainder of the bill with "for an Act to provide for a tribal and state relations committee; and to provide an expiration date.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF NORTH DAKOTA:

SECTION 1. Committee on tribal and state relations - Membership - Duties.

- 1. The committee on tribal and state relations is composed of seven members as follows:
 - a. The chairman of the legislative council or the chairman's designee;
 - b. Three members of the house of representatives, two of whom must be selected by the leader representing the majority faction of the house of representatives and one of whom must be selected by the leader representing the minority faction of the house of representatives; and
 - c. Three members of the senate, two of whom must be selected by the leader representing the majority faction of the senate and one of whom must be selected by the leader representing the minority faction of the senate.
- 2. The chairman of the legislative council, or the chairman's designee, shall serve as chairman of the committee.
- 3. The committee shall meet at such times and places as determined by the chairman. The legislative council shall provide staffing for the committee.
- 4. The committee, in consultation with the native American tribal citizens' task force, shall study tribal-state issues, including government-to-government relations, the delivery of services, case management services, child support enforcement, and issues related to the promotion of economic development. The committee shall report its findings and recommendations, together with any legislation required to implement those recommendations, to the legislative council.
- 5. The members of the committee are entitled to compensation from the legislative council for attendance at committee meetings at the rate provided for members of the legislative assembly for attendance at interim committee meetings and are entitled to reimbursement for expenses incurred in attending the meetings in the amounts provided by law for other state officers.
- 6. The native American tribal citizens' task force is composed of six members as follows:
 - a. The executive director of the Indian affairs commission, or the executive director's designee;
 - b. The chairman of the Standing Rock Sioux Tribe, or the chairman's designee;

- c. The chairman of the Spirit Lake Tribe, or the chairman's designee;
- d. The chairman of the Three Affiliated Tribes, or the chairman's designee;
- e. The chairman of the Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa Indians, or the chairman's designee; and
- f. The chairman of the Sisseton-Wahpeton Sioux Tribe, or the chairman's designee.

SECTION 2. EXPIRATION DATE. This Act is effective through July 31, 2007, and after that date is ineffective."

Renumber accordingly