Sixtieth Legislative Assembly of North Dakota

HOUSE BILL NO. 1098

Introduced by

Government and Veterans Affairs Committee

(At the request of the Indian Affairs Commission)

1 A BILL for an Act to amend and reenact section 54-36-01 of the North Dakota Century Code,

2 relating to the membership of the Indian affairs commission.

3 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF NORTH DAKOTA:

4 **SECTION 1. AMENDMENT.** Section 54-36-01 of the North Dakota Century Code is 5 amended and reenacted as follows:

6 54-36-01. Commission - Members - Officers - Expenses of members. The North 7 Dakota Indian affairs commission consists of the governor, four three members appointed by 8 the governor from the state at large, three two of whom must be of Indian descent, must be 9 enrolled members of a tribe, and must be current voting residents of the state of North Dakota, 10 and the chairpersons of the Standing Rock, Fort Berthold, Fort Totten, and Turtle Mountain 11 Indian Reservations or in the absence of the chairperson, the vice chairperson, or the 12 chairperson's designee, of the Standing Rock Sioux Tribe; the Spirit Lake Nation; the Mandan, 13 Hidatsa and Arikara Nation; the Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa Indians; and the 14 Sisseton-Wahpeton Oyate. The governor is the chairperson of the commission. The 15 commission shall meet quarterly or as otherwise agreed. Members of the commission or the 16 vice chairperson are entitled to receive mileage and expenses for attending each meeting as 17 are allowed other state officers.