Third Day of Legislative Organizational Session JOURNAL OF THE SENATE

Sixtieth Legislative Assembly

* * * *

Bismarck, December 6, 2006

The Senate convened at 8:30 a.m., with President Dalrymple presiding.

The prayer was offered by Pastor Allan Shaner, Grace Lutheran Brethern Church, Bismarck.

The roll was called and all members were present except Senators Hacker, O'Connell, and Taylor.

A guorum was declared by the President.

ANNOUNCEMENT

PRESIDENT DALRYMPLE ANNOUNCED that Sen. O'Connell requested the record show that he was in a conference with the Governor during roll call.

MOTION

SEN. CHRISTMANN MOVED that the Senate stand in recess until 9:10 a.m., which motion prevailed.

THE SENATE RECONVENED pursuant to recess taken, with President Dalrymple presiding.

REPORT OF PROCEDURAL COMMITTEE

MR. PRESIDENT: Your procedural **Rules Committee (Sen. Holmberg, Chairman)** recommends that the Senate and Joint Rules of the Fifty-ninth Legislative Assembly, as adopted on Wednesday, December 8, 2004, and published in the 2005 Senate and House Rules and Committees book, with the following amendments, be adopted as the permanent rules of the Senate for the Sixtieth Legislative Assembly, and that the reading of this report be dispensed with:

SECTION 1. AMENDMENT. Senate Rule 346 is amended as follows:

346. TRANSMITTAL OF MEASURE TO HOUSE - NOTICE OF INTENTION TO RECONSIDER. After the second reading of a bill or resolution, the Secretary of the Senate shall retain the bill or resolution until the end of the next legislative day, unless the bill or resolution has previously been disposed of. On the thirty-fourth thirty-third legislative day and after the forty-ninth legislative day, the Secretary of the Senate shall transmit the bill or resolution to the House immediately upon adjournment of that day's session unless action on the bill or resolution is pending as the result of the Senate passing a motion to reconsider or unless the Majority or Minority Leader has given notice of intention to move the reconsideration of that bill or resolution. After the fifty-eighth legislative day, the Secretary of the Senate shall transmit the bill or resolution to the House immediately after the second reading of the bill or resolution unless the Majority or Minority Leader has given notice of intention to move the reconsideration of that bill or resolution. When a member in explaining the member's vote states to the Senate that the member's vote is for the purpose of reconsideration, that statement also is notice of such intention.

SECTION 2. AMENDMENT. Subsection 1 of Senate Rule 402 is amended as follows:

1. No member other than the Majority and Minority Leaders may introduce more than three bills as prime sponsor after the tenth ninth legislative day. No bill may be introduced after the fifteenth fourteenth legislative day, and no resolution, except those resolutions described in subsection 3, may be introduced after the eighteenth legislative day, except upon approval of a majority of the Delayed Bills Committee or upon two-thirds vote of the members of the Senate present and voting.

SECTION 3. AMENDMENT. Subsection 1 of Senate Rule 501 is amended as follows:

1. The Committee on Committees consists of nine eight members. The Majority Leader, by virtue of office, is a member of the committee and shall serve as its chairman. The Majority Leader shall appoint five four other members from the majority party and three members from the minority party to the committee. The committee shall appoint standing committees concerned with matters in the fields as indicated and procedural committees.

SECTION 4. AMENDMENT. Subsection 1 of Joint Rule 203 is amended as follows:

 A bill that has passed one house may not be sent to the other house for concurrence after the thirty-fourth thirty-third legislative day, except a bill approved for introduction after the deadline for introduction of bills.

SEN. HOLMBERG MOVED that the report be adopted, which motion prevailed.

REPORT OF PROCEDURAL COMMITTEE

MR. PRESIDENT: Your procedural Committee on Committees (Sen. Stenehjem, Chairman) recommends the following as chairmen, vice chairmen, and members of standing committees:

Appropriations	Committee
----------------	-----------

Committee Chairman - Holmberg	Krauter
Vice Chairman - Bowman	Lindaas
Vice Chairman - Grindberg	Mathern
Christmann	Robinson
Fischer	Seymour
Kilzer	Tallackson

Krebsbach Wardner

Education Committee

Committee Chairman - Freborg	Bakke
Vice Chairman - Flakoll	Taylor
G. Lee	•

Finance and Taxation Committee

Committee Chairman - Urlacher	Anderson
Vice Chairman - Tollefson	Horne
Cook	Triplett
Oehlke	·

Human Services Committee

Committee Chairman - J. Lee	Heckaman
Vice Chairman - Erbele	Pomeroy
Dever	Warner

Industry, Business and Labor Committee

Committee Chairman - Klein	Behm
Vice Chairman - Hacker	Heitkamp
Andrist	Potter

Wanzek

Judiciary Committee

Committee Chairman - Nething	Fiebiger
Vice Chairman - Lyson	Marcellais
Olafson	Nelson

Agriculture Committee

Committee Chairman - Flakoll Vice Chairman - Wanzek	Behm Heckamen
vice Chairnan - wanzek	пескаптеп
Erbele	Taylor
IZI = 5	•

Klein

Government and Veterans Affairs Committee

Committee Chairman - Dever	Horne
Vice Chairman - Oehlke	Marcellais
J. Lee	Nelson

Natural Resources Committee

Committee Chairman - Lyson	Heitkamp
Vice Chairman - Tollefson	Pomeroy
Freborg	Triplettn
Urlacher	

Political Subdivisions Committee

Committee Chairman - Cook	Anderson
Vice Chairman - Olafson	Warner

Hacker

Transportation Committee

Committee Chairman - G. Lee
Vice Chairman - Andrist
Nething
Bakke
Fiebiger
Potter

SEN. STENEHJEM MOVED that the report be adopted, which motion prevailed.

REPORT OF PROCEDURAL COMMITTEE

MR. PRESIDENT: Your procedural Committee on Arrangements for Senate Committee Rooms (Sen. Christmann, Chairman) recommends that the Senate use the same committee rooms as were used during the Fifty-ninth Legislative Session. In addition, the room formerly used as the smoking room will now be the legislators' study. The committee rooms are as follows:

COMMITTEE	MEETING DAYS	ROOM
Appropriations	MTWThF	Harvest
Education	MTW	Missouri River
Government and Veterans Affairs	ThF	Missouri River
Finance and Taxation	MTW	Lewis and Clark
Transportation	ThF	Lewis and Cark
Human Services	MTW	Red River
Political Subdivisions	ThF	Red River
Industry, Business and Labor	MTW	Roosevelt
Agriculture	ThF	Roosevelt
Judiciary	MTW	Fort Lincoln
Natural Resources	ThF	Fort Lincoln

SEN. CHRISTMANN MOVED that the report be adopted, which motion prevailed.

MOTION

SEN. CHRISTMANN MOVED that the absent members be excused, which motion prevailed.

MOTION

SEN. CHRISTMANN MOVED that the Senate stand in recess until 9:55 a.m., at which time it will convene in the House for a Joint Session, after which the Senate stand adjourned until 12:00 noon, Wednesday, January 3, 2007, which motion prevailed.

The Senate stood adjourned pursuant to Senator Christmann's motion.

William R. Horton, Secretary