## **MEETING NOTICE**

Senator Dick Dever, Chairman, has called a meeting of the LONG-TERM CARE COMMITTEE.

Date: Wednesday, November 7, 2007

Time: 9:00 a.m.

Place: Roughrider Room, State Capitol, Bismarck

Agenda: Presentations by representatives of the Department of Human Services regarding long-term care programs and statistics, on the establishment of an aging and disability resource center, the National Family Caregiver Support Program, the current process of identifying youth needing transitional services and how services are coordinated and provided, other states' transitional services programs for youth with mental illness, and vocational rehabilitation services provided to youth with severe emotional disturbances; by the Long-Term Care Ombudsman regarding notification requirements for basic care and nursing facilities; by representatives of the Real Choice Systems Change Grant - Rebalancing Initiative regarding the initiative's findings and results; by representatives of the Olmstead Commission regarding outcomes of long-term care-related pilot projects and other activities and findings and recommendations of the commission; by a representative of the National Family Caregiver Support Program regarding dementia-related services; by representatives of the Alzheimer's Association regarding the estimated number of individuals with Alzheimer's disease or related dementia; by representatives of the Youth Correctional Center regarding transitional services provided to youth being released from the center; by representatives of the Supreme Court regarding its involvement with children's transitional issues; by representatives of the Department of Public Instruction, Department of Career and Technical Education, and the University System regarding services provided to youth with severe emotional disturbances; and other presentations, including a presentation by representatives of The Village Family Service Center regarding its in-home counseling program and by the Legislative Council staff of state demographic information

Special Note: Anyone who plans to attend the meeting and needs assistance because of a disability should contact the Legislative Council staff as soon as possible.

Committee Members: Senators Dick Dever, Joan Heckaman, Aaron Krauter, Judy Lee, Tim Mathern; Representatives Larry Bellew, Karen Karls, Gary Kreidt, Ralph Metcalf, Jon Nelson, Vonnie Pietsch, Louise Potter, Clara Sue Price, Gerry Uglem, Benjamin A. Vig, Alon Wieland

**Staff Contacts:** Allen H. Knudson, Assistant Legislative Budget Analyst and Auditor Jim W. Smith, Legislative Budget Analyst and Auditor

Any member who is unable to attend this meeting is asked to please notify this office as soon as possible.

Sincerely,

John D. Olsrud Director

JDO/AL