## Sixtieth Legislative Assembly of North Dakota In Regular Session Commencing Wednesday, January 3, 2007

## HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 3035 (Representatives Berg, Boucher) (Senators Stenehjem, O'Connell)

A concurrent resolution proclaiming February 12, 2008, through February 12, 2010, the official observance of the bicentennial of Abraham Lincoln's birth.

WHEREAS, Abraham Lincoln, the 16th President of the United States and one of the nation's greatest leaders, demonstrated courage, compassion, and integrity during one of the most turbulent and violent periods in American history; and

WHEREAS, Abraham Lincoln was born of humble beginnings in a log cabin in Kentucky and rose to the presidency through a legacy of honesty, intelligence, and determination, as well as a strong dedication to the nation he served; and

**WHEREAS**, with the belief that all men are created equal, Abraham Lincoln led the national effort to free all slaves in the United State; and

WHEREAS, Abraham Lincoln delivered his immortal speech in Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, on November 19, 1863, invoking the basic principles of human equality as outlined in the Declaration of Independence, thereby transforming the objective of the American Civil War from saving the Union to fostering "a new birth of freedom" and reemphasizing the underlying purpose of government to be an institution "of the people, by the people, and for the people"; and

WHEREAS, despite the tragedy and turmoil of the Civil War, Abraham Lincoln demonstrated through words and actions a generosity of heart and greatness of character that generated a spirit of reconciliation with malice toward none and charity for all; and

WHEREAS, Abraham Lincoln signed into law the Homestead Act on May 20, 1862, which had a major impact in opening up the settlement of the northern plains, including what is now North Dakota; and

WHEREAS, Abraham Lincoln signed into law the Morrill Land Grant College Act, on July 2, 1862, which provided grants of land nationwide for the establishment of colleges specializing in agriculture and engineering resulting in the establishment of what is now North Dakota State University; and

WHEREAS, Abraham Lincoln appointed the first two governors of the Dakota Territory, part of which later became North Dakota; and

WHEREAS, Abraham Lincoln signed the charter for the Northern Pacific Railroad on July 2, 1864, the construction of which through what is now North Dakota led to the settlement of many towns and cities; and

**WHEREAS**, forts in North Dakota were named in the late President's honor, including Fort Abraham Lincoln near Mandan and Fort Lincoln near Bismarck; and

WHEREAS, a heroic-sized bust of Abraham Lincoln stands in Frogner Park in Oslo, Norway, sculpted by Valley City artist Paul Fjelde in 1914 and presented as a gift from the people of North Dakota to the people of Norway, in celebration of the 100th anniversary of Syttende Mai, Norwegian Independence Day; and

**WHEREAS**, the Congress of the United States has created the Abraham Lincoln Bicentennial Commission to study and recommend worthy national activities to honor Abraham Lincoln in 2009; and

WHEREAS, North Dakotans are beginning preparations for events and programs to commemorate statewide the bicentennial of Lincoln's birth; and

**WHEREAS**, North Dakotans and all Americans may derive inspiration and benefit from the study of the life, words, and deeds of our nation's 16th President;

## NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF NORTH DAKOTA, THE SENATE CONCURRING THEREIN:

That the Sixtieth Legislative Assembly of North Dakota proclaims February 12, 2008, through February 12, 2010, to be the official observance of the bicentennial of Abraham Lincoln's birth; and

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED**, that the Legislative Assembly invites all North Dakotans to commemorate the 200th anniversary of Abraham Lincoln's birth on Thursday, February 12, 2009.

Speaker of the House

President of the Senate

Chief Clerk of the House

Secretary of the Senate

Filed in this office this \_\_\_\_\_\_ day of \_\_\_\_\_\_, 2007,

at \_\_\_\_\_ o'clock \_\_\_\_\_ M.

Secretary of State