Sixtieth Legislative Assembly of North Dakota In Regular Session Commencing Wednesday, January 3, 2007

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 4010 (Senators Nelson, Horne, Robinson) (Representatives Hawken, Mueller)

A concurrent resolution in memory of James D. Ployhar.

WHEREAS, on January 2, 2007, James D. Ployhar was summoned to eternal rest; and

WHEREAS, James D. Ployhar taught music education in schools in Lakota and Fargo and at the International Music Camp for many years, established and directed the Fargo Theatre Big Band All Stars, and served as a clinician and guest conductor at the undergraduate and university level throughout the world; and

- **WHEREAS**, James D. Ployhar, pursuant to a commission by the North Dakota Legislative Assembly, composed the Flickertail March and the Centennial Overture; and
- **WHEREAS**, James D. Ployhar wrote and composed music that has been performed worldwide and coproduced a Disney adventure film; and
- **WHEREAS**, James D. Ployhar graduated from Valley City State University and was awarded the university's Distinguished Alumnus Award; and
- **WHEREAS**, James D. Ployhar was husband to Ruth, a father to Steve, Carol, Debbie, Jane, and Doug, and a friend to many citizens of this state; and
- **WHEREAS**, we now pause to mourn the passing of James D. Ployhar and honor his memory for his outstanding service to the people of this state and those around the world who have had the pleasure of hearing his music performed;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF NORTH DAKOTA, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN:

That we express our sorrow on the passing of James D. Ployhar and show our appreciation, on behalf of the people of North Dakota, for his service and his gift of music; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Secretary of State present enrolled copies of this resolution to the widow and children of James D. Ployhar, the Valley City State University Music Alumni Hall of Fame, and the International Music Camp.

S. C. R. No. 4010 - Page 2

Speaker of the House
Chief Clerk of the House
, 2007
Secretary of State