Sixty-first Legislative Assembly of North Dakota

FIRST ENGROSSMENT with Senate Amendments ENGROSSED HOUSE BILL NO. 1278

Introduced by

Representatives Porter, R. Kelsch

Senator Cook

1 A BILL for an Act to amend and reenact sections 61-24.5-04, 61-24.5-07, and 61-24.5-08 of the

2 North Dakota Century Code, relating to members of the board of directors of the southwest

3 water authority.

4 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF NORTH DAKOTA:

5 **SECTION 1. AMENDMENT.** Section 61-24.5-04 of the North Dakota Century Code is 6 amended and reenacted as follows:

7 61-24.5-04. Board of directors - Officers - Meetings - Compensation. The authority 8 must be governed by a board of directors who must be chosen in accordance with this chapter. 9 One director must be elected from each county within the authority, and two directors must be 10 elected in the city of Dickinson, and one director must be elected in the city of Mandan. The 11 director from Stark County may not be a resident of the city of Dickinson. The director from 12 Morton County may not be a resident of Mandan. The board shall elect from the directors a 13 chairman, vice chairman, and secretary. A majority of the directors constitutes a quorum for 14 the purpose of conducting the business of the board. The board shall meet at the time and 15 place designated by the secretary. Board members are entitled to receive as compensation an 16 amount determined by the board not to exceed the amount per day provided members of the 17 legislative council under section 54-35-10 and must be reimbursed for their mileage and 18 expenses in the amount provided for by sections 44-08-04 and 54-06-09.

SECTION 2. AMENDMENT. Section 61-24.5-07 of the North Dakota Century Code is
amended and reenacted as follows:

61-24.5-07. Election of city directors of the southwest water authority. Any person
who is a resident and qualified elector of the city of Dickinson <u>or Mandan</u> who aspires to the
office of director of the southwest water authority shall, at least sixty days and before five p.m.
on the sixtieth day before the election, file with the city auditor a petition signed by not less than

Sixty-first Legislative Assembly

1	ten percent of the number of qualified electors who voted for that office in the last city election,
2	except that the petition for the first election must be signed by not less than two hundred
3	qualified electors. Signers of a petition must reside within the corporate limits of the city, and
4	each signer of the petition shall include with the signer's name the signer's mailing address.
5	The petition must include the candidate's name, post-office address, and the title of the office of
6	the southwest water authority for which the candidate is seeking election.
7	The petition must be accompanied by an affidavit substantially as follows:
8	STATE OF NORTH DAKOTA)
9) ss.
10	City of Dickinson)
11	I, being sworn, say that I reside in the city of Dickinson
12	and State of North Dakota; that I am a qualified elector therein; that I
13	am a candidate for the office of director of the Southwest Water Authority to be elected
14	at the municipal election to be held on,, and I request that my
15	name be printed upon the election ballot as provided by law, as a candidate for the
16	office.
17	
18	Subscribed and sworn to before me on,
19	
20	Notary Public
21	Upon receipt of the petition the city auditor shall without fee place the name of the
22	aspirant on the election ballot as a candidate for the office of director. The candidate or
23	candidates, depending on whether one or two directors are being elected, receiving the highest
24	number of votes are elected. The provisions of chapter 40-21 govern the election of directors
25	from the city of Dickinson or Mandan for the southwest water authority.
26	SECTION 3. AMENDMENT. Section 61-24.5-08 of the North Dakota Century Code is
27	amended and reenacted as follows:
28	61-24.5-08. Term of office of directors - Oath of office - Bonds. Members of the
29	board of directors of the authority hold office for a term of four years, until a successor has
30	been duly elected and qualified. If the office of any director becomes vacant by reason of the
31	failure of any director elected at any election to qualify or for any other reason, the director's

Sixty-first Legislative Assembly

1 successor must be appointed to fill the vacancy by the board of county commissioners of the 2 county in which the vacancy occurs, or by the governing body of the city of Dickinson or 3 Mandan, as appropriate. A director appointed to fill a vacancy shall hold office for the 4 unexpired term of the director whose office has become vacant, and until a successor has been 5 elected and qualified. 6 Members of the board of directors elected from a county must be elected at the primary 7 election and assume office on the first Monday in July following their election. Members of the 8 board of directors elected from the city of Dickinson or Mandan must be elected at the 9 municipal election and assume office on the first Monday in July following their election. In 2002 all directors' terms are deemed to have expired, and each county shall elect 10 11 one director to serve on the board of directors and the city of Dickinson shall elect two directors

to serve on the board of directors. In 2002 one director from the city of Dickinson and directors
from Adams, Billings, Dunn, Grant, Oliver, and Slope Counties must be elected for two-year
terms and in 2004 and thereafter must be elected for four-year terms. In 2010 the director from
the city of Mandan must be elected to a four-year term. All other subsequent directors elected
in 2002 must be elected for four-year terms.
Before assuming the duties of the office of director, each director shall take and

18 subscribe to the oath of office prescribed by law for civil officers. The authority treasurer must
19 be bonded in an amount as the board may prescribe.