Sixty-first Legislative Assembly of North Dakota

SENATE MEMORIAL RESOLUTION NO. 8001

Introduced by

Memorial Resolutions Committee

1	A memorial resolution for deceased members of the Senate of North Dakota.
2	WHEREAS, God has summoned to eternal rest our former colleagues:
3	Arnold Bjorlie, who served in the 31st and 32nd Legislative Assemblies, from District 17
4	died April 27, 2008;
5	Richard L. Brown, who served in the 58th and 59th Legislative Assemblies, from
6	District 27, died November 1, 2008;
7	Harold "Hal" Christensen, who served in the 44th through the 49th Legislative
8	Assemblies, from District 5, died January 15, 2008;
9	Orville W. Hagen, who served in the 33rd and 34th Legislative Assemblies, from
10	District 41, died June 24, 2007;
11	Ken Solberg, who served in the 52nd through the 57th Legislative Assemblies, from
12	District 7, died October 7, 2007;
13	Jens Tennefos, who served in the 45th through the 54th Legislative Assemblies, from
14	District 46, died May 14, 2008;
15	Bronald Thompson, who served in the 36th through the 39th Legislative Assemblies,
16	from District 20, died October 30, 2007;
17	Kenneth Tweten, who served in the 43rd and 44th Legislative Assemblies, from
18	District 18, died April 24, 2008; and
19	WHEREAS, we now pause to mourn the passing of our former Senate colleagues and
20	to honor their memories; and
21	WHEREAS, these legislators rendered outstanding service to the people of the state by
22	their contributions to public service;
23	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF NORTH DAKOTA:
24	That we express our sorrow on their passing and our appreciation, on behalf of the
25	people of North Dakota, of the loyal and devoted service of our former colleagues; and

- 1 **BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED**, that for the perpetuation of their memory this token of
- 2 respect and sympathy by their successors in trust be printed in the Journal of the Senate and
- 3 that the Secretary of State present enrolled copies of this resolution to the surviving families of
- 4 these deceased senators.