Sixty-first Legislative Assembly of North Dakota

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 3039

Introduced by

Representatives Belter, Brandenburg

Senator Klein

1	A concurrent resolution urging Congress to end the outer continental shelf moratorium on oil
2	and natural gas exploration and production.
3	WHEREAS, all Americans are suffering from record high energy prices; and
4	WHEREAS, a federal legislative moratorium prohibits oil and natural gas drilling,
5	exploration, and production on the outer continental shelves; and
6	WHEREAS, coastal states should have the right to determine on their own whether
7	such drilling, exploration, and production should be permitted along their coasts; and
8	WHEREAS, according to the United States Department of the Interior, there are an
9	estimated 86 billion barrels of oil and 420 trillion cubic feet of natural gas on the outer
10	continental shelves; and
11	WHEREAS, Congress should eliminate policies, such as the outer continental shelf
12	moratorium, which artificially limit oil and natural gas supply and thereby increase energy
13	prices; and
14	WHEREAS, lower energy costs and more reliable energy markets in the United States
15	would promote economic growth and prosperity; and
16	WHEREAS, coastal states would share in significant revenue from outer continental
17	shelf leases; and
18	WHEREAS, offshore oil drilling would lead to significant job growth for coastal
19	communities; and
20	WHEREAS, the United States Department of Energy has stated advanced, more
21	energy-efficient drilling and production methods practically eliminate spills from offshore
22	platforms;
23	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES
24	OF NORTH DAKOTA, THE SENATE CONCURRING THEREIN:

- 1 That the Sixty-first Legislative Assembly strongly urges the Congress of the United
- 2 States to end the outer continental shelf moratorium on oil and natural gas exploration and
- 3 production; and
- 4 **BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED**, that the Secretary of State forward copies of this
- 5 resolution to each member of the North Dakota Congressional Delegation.