Sixty-first Legislative Assembly of North Dakota In Regular Session Commencing Tuesday, January 6, 2009

SENATE MEMORIAL RESOLUTION NO. 8001 (Memorial Resolutions Committee)

A memorial resolution for deceased members of the Senate of North Dakota.

WHEREAS, God has summoned to eternal rest our former colleagues:

Arnold Bjorlie, who served in the 31st and 32nd Legislative Assemblies, from District 17, died April 27, 2008;

Richard L. Brown, who served in the 58th and 59th Legislative Assemblies, from District 27, died November 1, 2008;

Harold "Hal" Christensen, who served in the 44th through the 49th Legislative Assemblies, from District 5, died January 15, 2008;

Orville W. Hagen, who served in the 33rd and 34th Legislative Assemblies, from District 41, died June 24, 2007;

Ken Solberg, who served in the 52nd through the 57th Legislative Assemblies, from District 7, died October 7, 2007;

Jens Tennefos, who served in the 45th through the 54th Legislative Assemblies, from District 46, died May 14, 2008;

Bronald Thompson, who served in the 36th through the 39th Legislative Assemblies, from District 20, died October 30, 2007:

Kenneth Tweten, who served in the 43rd and 44th Legislative Assemblies, from District 18, died April 24, 2008; and

WHEREAS, we now pause to mourn the passing of our former Senate colleagues and to honor their memories; and

WHEREAS, these legislators rendered outstanding service to the people of the state by their contributions to public service;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF NORTH DAKOTA:

That we express our sorrow on their passing and our appreciation, on behalf of the people of North Dakota, of the loyal and devoted service of our former colleagues; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that for the perpetuation of their memory this token of respect and sympathy by their successors in trust be printed in the Journal of the Senate and that the Secretary of State present enrolled copies of this resolution to the surviving families of these deceased senators.

S. M. R. No. 8001 - Page 2

		President of the Senate	
		Secretary of the Senate	
Filed in this office this	day of		, 2009,
at o'clock M.			
		Secretary of State	